Citation Help
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association by Call Number: REF BF76.7.P83 2020ISBN: 9781433832161Publication Date: 2019-10-01
PsycInfo Subject Index Terms (Thesaurus)
Handouts
Is It a Scholarly Journal?
Journals by Title: This search identifies scholarly journals and links to full text the library has available.
Ulrich's International Periodicals Directory: Entries include information about whether the journal or magazine is a scholarly journal, consumer magazine, etc.
Paper journals: Frequently include instruction for authors in the front or back of the journal. Some instructions will use the phrase "peer reviewed." Others will say that manuscripts are sent for blind review, reviewed by a committee, or anonymously reviewed.
Research Databases: Some allow you to limit your search to scholarly journals.
Peer Review in 3 Minutes
This video is published under a Creative Commons 3.0 BY-NC-SA US license. It is available at https://youtu.be/rOCQZ7QnoN0
Try these first
Search these databases for scholarly articles
- Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection
Full text scholarly psychology journals covering psychiatry and psychology, mental processes, and observational and experimental methods.
- PsycINFO 1887-Current
The premier index to journal articles and other scholarly publications in the field of psychology.
- PsycNET
APA PsycNET is a search platform designed specifically to deliver American Psychological Association content, enabling users to efficiently search and discover behavioral science related material with engineered cross-database searching. The platform features full integration of APA's precise indexing with the controlled vocabulary of the Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms.
- PubMed
A service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine, PubMed includes over 17 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to the 1950s. PubMed includes links to full text articles and other related resources.
Counseling and Therapy Videos
- PsycTherapy Videos
Hundreds of streaming video demonstrations of over 100 psychotherapy approaches, such as integrated behavioral health care, cognitive behavior therapy, and acceptance and commitment therapy, all with synchronized, searchable transcripts.
- SAGE Counseling & Psychotherapy Videos
Over 480 streaming videos on topics including counseling research methods, counseling setting/client groups, theory and approaches, counseling skills, and professional issues.
Additional Resources
- Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA)
Index to articles, books, and other publications about the nature and use of language. Topics include phonetics, phonology, syntax, and semantics.
- Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print
Information about and reviews of English-language standardized tests, including what they measure, where to find them, and reviews.
- Web of Science
Index to articles in scholarly journals and conference proceedings from all fields of study, plus the ability to search these articles' bibliographies by cited author or work. Links to full text are included where possible.