Contact Us
3 Ways to Contact Us
We're on the 4th floor of Jerome Library.
Email us at bpcl@libanswers.bgsu.edu.
Call us at 419-372-2450.
How to Use the BPCL & What to Bring With You
- BPCL's hours are more limited than the main floor, but we're open late on Monday and Tuesday.
- We're an archive/repository, so most of our materials cannot be checked out.
- Most of our collection is not open for browsing. You need to request materials at our reference desk with your university ID or a photo ID.
- The reference collection is open for browsing! It's one of the best places to get started with popular culture research.
- We have a copier and a scanner available for copying/scanning materials that cannot be checked out. There is a fee for copying, but scanning is free.
What is the Paper Doll Collection?
This is a collection of a variety of paper doll sets dating from the twentieth century. Most of the dolls are of motion picture celebrities, such as Betty Grable and Rita Hayworth. Famous child celebrities are also represented, including Shirley Temple, Margaret O’Brien and the Dionne Quintuplets. The dolls and their accessories have been cut out and show use, yet are still in good condition.
The collection is organized alphabetically. The major U.S. publishers of paper dolls from the time period are represented, including Saalfield and Merrill. The doll sets would be of interest to scholars of girl culture of the twentieth century.
For a detailed inventory of this collection, consult the finding aid for the Paper Doll Collection.
