LibGuides: Nursing: Databases, Tutorials & Information Sources

Searching Guides

CINAHL Quick Searching Tutorial
CINAHL Advanced Searching Tutorial
PubMed User Guide
Limiting PubMed to Nursing Journals Journal categories & more subsets Select journal categories can be added to the sidebar using the Additional Filters button: Dental journals MEDLINE Nursing journals The Journal/Citation subsets restrict retrieval to specialized journals or articles on specialized topics in other journals. The table below lists the journal subsets, along with the code used for searching. Some subsets are closed and are no longer being assigned to current data. To search for a Journal/Citation subset, enter in the search box: jsubset?, where ? represents the subset code. The Journal/Citation subset does not require a search tag. Subset Code Journal/Citation Subset AIM Abridged Index Medicus is a list created in 1970 of approximately 120 core clinical English language journals that corresponds to "Core clinical journals" journal category selection in filters. D Dentistry journals E Citations from bioethics journals or selected bioethics citations from other journals H Health administration journals, non-Index Medicus IM Index Medicus journals K Consumer health journals N Nursing journals Q History of medicine journals and selected citations from other journals QIS Citations from non-Index Medicus journals in the field of history of medicine S Citations from space life sciences journals and selected space life sciences citations from other journals T Health technology assessment journals, non-Index Medicus X AIDS/HIV journals (selected citations from other journals 1980-2000) PubMed Central Subset To restrict retrieval to citations that have a free full-text article available in PubMed Central (PMC), search pubmed pmc[sb]. Use the PMID/PMCID/NIHMSID Converter to convert IDs for publications referenced in PubMed and PMC. To retrieve citations that include an NIHMS ID use the query, hasnihmsid. Citation Status Subsets The citation status indicates the internal processing stage of an article in the PubMed database (see PubMed Citation Status Subsets). To search for a particular citation status, enter one of the search terms below followed by the [sb] search tag: publisher inprocess medline pubmednotmedline To search for the total number of PubMed citations, enter all[sb] in the search box.
Nursing Research: Formulating Your Question Using PICO (video)
Nursing Research: Translate Your PICO Into a Search in PubMed (video)

Evidence Based Practice

Patient Safety and Quality: An Evidence-Based Handbook for Nurses
Full text ebook provided by the NLM
Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE): Quality-assessed Reviews
Full text ebook from the National Library of Medicine

AI and ChatGPT

Marks M, Haupt CE. AI Chatbots, Health Privacy, and Challenges to HIPAA Compliance. JAMA. 2023 Jul 25;330(4):309-310.https://doi.org/10.1001/jama.2023.9458. PMID:37410450.

“We conclude that chatbots cannot comply with the Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act (HIPAA) in any meaningful way despite industry assurances.”

Nursing Literature Databases

Alt-HealthWatch
Full text articles, reports, conference proceedings, pamphlets and newsletters dealing with complementary and alternative medicine, including holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness.
Coverage: 1984-present
CINAHL Plus with Full Text
This database provides a detailed index and full text of scholarly articles in nursing and allied health literature, including biomedicine and consumer health, scholarly journals, evidence-based practice guidelines, and other publications. Additional materials include full-text evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons, health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, and continuing education modules.
Coronavirus Research Database
Including coverage of the COVID-19 outbreak, this database curates openly available content related to coronaviruses. It includes thousands of open-access articles from the world’s leading publishers as well as current research from pre-print repositories such as arXiv and will continue to grow and evolve as more is learned about the pandemic. Available for free from ProQuest to support online learning during the COVID-19 pandemic.
DynaMed
DynaMed covers a number of subjects within health sciences, with content ranging from comprehensive reviews of diseases, conditions, and abnormal findings to highly focused topics on evaluation, differential diagnosis, and management. Drug and laboratory monographs developed and maintained by IBM Micromedex are also offered. The content is regularly updated as new information indicates a need for change in practice or improved understanding of the body of knowledge.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
Full text for hundreds of scholarly journals focusing on many medical disciplines, with a particular focus on nursing and allied health.
MedicLatina
Spanish-language medical research and investigative journals from Spanish and Latin American medical publishers.
PsycINFO 1887-Current
The premier index to journal articles and other scholarly publications in the field of psychology.
PsycNET
APA PsycNET is a search platform designed specifically to deliver American Psychological Association content, enabling users to efficiently search and discover behavioral science related material with engineered cross-database searching. The platform features full integration of APA's precise indexing with the controlled vocabulary of the Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms.
PubMed
A service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine, PubMed includes over 17 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to the 1950s. PubMed includes links to full text articles and other related resources.
Mobile access
R2 Digital Library
A portal to full text ebooks in medicine, nursing and allied health from key health science publishers. Available titles include the Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy. Please note: access to titles in this collection is limited to one user at a time. If the book you're trying to access is currently in use by another user, you'll see a note advising you to try later.
Mometrix
Mometrix eLibrary is a comprehensive test preparation tool, offering study materials for hundreds of different exams in a range of subjects including education, business, law, and healthcare.