Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Search the Catalog for Books About Authors (just type the author's name in the search box)
Books about science fiction writers
Books about mystery writers
How to Use the BPCL
- Our hours are more limited than the main floor, but we're open late on Sunday, Monday, and Tuesday.
- We're an archive/repository, so most of our materials cannot be checked out.
- Most of our collection is not open for browsing. You need to request materials at our reference desk with your university ID or a photo ID. You will also need to fill out a request form.
- The reference collection is open for browsing! It's the best place to get started with popular culture research.
- We have a copier and a scanner available for copying/scanning materials that cannot be checked out - you just need a BG1 card for the copier.
Try these databases for find author information
Literary Reference Center Plus (EBSCO)
Detailed information on the most-studied authors and their works, including plot summaries, literary criticism, authors' biographies, articles from literary journals, and book reviews.
Literature Resource Center (Gale)
This resource provides information about the publishing industry, and major authors and their works, including news, biographies, critical essays, summaries of works, and full text journal articles. It features thousands of complete entries from two award-winning series – Contemporary Authors and Dictionary of Literary Biography – providing in-depth biographical, bibliographical, and contextual information on authors’ lives and works.
Children's Literature Comprehensive Database
Thousands of children's book reviews and related information including best books lists, annually-updated state reading lists, teaching tools, and reading measurement programs.
Databases with broader subject coverage
Humanities International Complete
Index to scholarly articles covering topics such as history, music, literature, philosophy and religion.
Over a thousand full-text scholarly journals and books covering all subjects in the humanities, sciences and social sciences. History, economics, art, literature, and mathematics are particularly strong. All journal titles are archived back to the first issue, many dating from the early 1800s.
MLA International Bibliography
A detailed index to journal articles, books, book chapters and dissertations published on subjects in modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics.
Professor/Digital Resources Librarian
Books about romance writers