Art Journals at BGSU
Getting full text
While databases like JSTOR contain full text, many other databases only contain descriptions of articles. Here's how to get to full text when it's not in the database you're searching:
Click on the "Find it!" button
If there is full text in another database, you will be taken to the article in that database.
If we have the journal in print, you will see the catalog record with its location.
If there is not a link to full text, there will be a link to Interlibrary Loan. You will sign in to the BGSU Single Sign On using your BGSU username and password. The article's information will be filled in for you. Simply hit the "submit" button to request a copy of the article!
ILL requests for articles and book chapters are often filled very quickly, because libraries usually scan the articles and deliver them to you online as a pdf.
Your Art Librarian
Best bets for coverage of art journals
Search the full text of many journals at once for the most efficient way to find articles on a particular artist or subject. These are the best to start with.
- Art Full Text & Art Index Retrospective
Indexing for hundreds of international art publications, including peer-reviewed journals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins, with full text provided for many.
- JSTOR
Over a thousand full-text scholarly journals and books covering all subjects in the humanities, sciences and social sciences. History, economics, art, literature, and mathematics are particularly strong. All journal titles are archived back to the first issue, many dating from the early 1800s. JSTOR now also hosts the complete ArtSTOR collection.
Finding newspaper articles
Newspapers contain profiles, exhibition reviews, obituaries, and more. Pay close attention to coverage dates for online newspapers! To find a specific newspaper by title, use the "Journals by Title" link under "Search & Find" on the library's home page.
- New York Times Historical
The entire contents of the New York Times from 1851 to three years ago.
- ProQuest Global NewsstreamAn online newspaper resource that includes international, national and regional papers such as The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, USA Today, Washington Post, The Guardian, El Norte, Jerusalem Post, and South China Morning Post.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
The database formerly named LexisNexis Academic is now called Nexis Uni! Contains full-text newspapers, business information, and legal publications, including current news, company profiles, industry information, and federal and state laws and legislation.
- NewspaperArchive.com
Searchable full text for hundreds of historical newspapers published in Ohio between 1800-2010. Search or browse 19th and 20th century Ohio newspapers and view full-page pdf images.
Biographical sources
- AskART.comA good place to find information about lesser-known artists, view reproductions of work. Entries include bibliographies. Students can purchase full access for 24 hours for $13.50, but much of the site is available for free.
- Archives of American ArtFrom the Smithsonian, includes digitized images, letters, and more as well as descriptions of primary source materials in the Archives, many of which have been microfilmed and can be borrowed through Interlibrary Loan.
- Oxford Art Online
Oxford Art Online includes the peer-reviewed, regularly updated Grove Art Online, The Benezit Dictionary of Artists, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, The Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, providing access to thousands of articles spanning ancient to contemporary art and architecture, as well as images of works of art, structures, plans, and artist signatures.
Access limited to 3 users at a time. - Biography Reference BankBiographical information on approximately half a million people, from antiquity to the present, plus thousands of images.