Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Art History: Finding images

Image Databases from the BGSU Libraries

These research guides give more information about using ARTstor and images in general.

Museum collections online

While most major museums have websites, not all have substantial digital collections. Here is a selection of museums in the United States, Europe and Asia that do.

archINFORM

archINFORM logo

A database for international architecture, archINFORM includes images of and information about over 44,000 projects, most from the 20th century. Some entries, such as the one for the Farnsworth House (Mies van der Rohe), include multiple images, plans, and a bibliography.

Special collections

Don't forget our Special Collections!
You may not be able to take all of these materials out of the library, but you can usually photograph, copy or scan them.
The Browne Popular Culture Library, on the 4th floor, has a wealth of visual materials, including graphic novels, zines, comic books, posters, postcards, magazines, and more.
The Music Library & Bill Schurk Sound Archives, on the 3rd floor, has album art, posters, and zines as well as music.
The Curriculum Resource Center, on the 2nd floor, has puppets, games, picture files, illustrated children's books, pop-up books, K-12 teaching aids, and the Ellison Machine, which will punch out an amazing variety of shapes from paper or cloth.