Searching Summon
Summon searches 80% of the library's collections, including EBSCO and JSTOR, the main databases for the Visual Arts. Use the Discipline filter to narrow down to the "Visual Arts" discipline when searching for your chosen artist or piece.
Summon is also the only place to search all the library's databases for eBooks. Just use the "eBook Full Text Online" filter to find eBooks in Summon.
Searching the Book Catalog
The catalog is the best place to search for physical books. Watch the short video below to learn how to use it effectively.
If you are creating an exhibition, you may want to look at published exhibition catalogs, especially on the artist(s) or topic you've chosen. It will help you by:
- giving you ideas of works to include (and their details: size, media, current location)
- helping you think of installation ideas (especially valuable for installation or performance artists or 3- and 4-D media)
- providing examples of catalog essays
- providing a bibliography
- providing an artist's bio or CV details (education, major exhibitions, representation in permanent museum collections)
There will usually be notes in the catalog to tell you more about the exhibit and where it was installed:
|
To search for museum exhibit catalogs, use the Advanced Search function. Using the drop-down menu, select "Subject" and search for "Exhibitions". You can then add a search term for your artist, material, or other general search term.
Art Magazines Online
- AestheticaAesthetica Magazine is a destination for art and culture. In-depth features foreground today’s most innovative practitioners across art, architecture, photography and design. The magazine has national and international distribution and contributes to a total reach of 500,000+, with a significant online presence across the website and social media.
- Art ForumArtForum contains a breadth of information for collectors of all types. From major gallery openings to museum preview events and recent auction sale reports, ArtFroum covers what’s happening in the art world with journalistic and editorial content. The magazine features in-depth articles and reviews of contemporary art, as well as book reviews, columns on cinema and popular culture, and numerous full-page advertisements from prominent galleries around the world.
- The Art NewspaperThe Art Newspaper is an online and print publication with offices in London and New York. It provides an unrivalled news service about the art world, fed by its network of sister editions, which together have more than 50 correspondents working in more than 30 countries. In addition to the news, it publishes reviews and commentary by major players in the art scene, including Nicholas Serota, the outgoing director of the Tate, Glenn Lowry, the director of the Museum of Modern Art, New York, Venice Biennale curator Robert Storr, and many more.
- Hi-Fructose: The New Contemporary Art MagazineHi-Fructose focuses squarely on the art which transcends genre and trend, assuring readers thorough coverage and content that is informative and original. Hi-Fructose showcases an amalgamation of new contemporary, emerging as well distinguished artists, with a spotlight on awe inspiring spectacles from round the world.
- JuxtapozJuxtapoze magazine helps to define and celebrate urban alternative and underground contemporary art.
Your Art Librarian
Best Bests for Articles
- JSTOR
Over a thousand full-text scholarly journals and books covering all subjects in the humanities, sciences and social sciences. History, economics, art, literature, and mathematics are particularly strong. All journal titles are archived back to the first issue, many dating from the early 1800s. JSTOR now also hosts the complete ArtSTOR collection.
- Art Full Text & Art Index Retrospective
Indexing for hundreds of international art publications, including peer-reviewed journals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins, with full text provided for many.
- Humanities International Complete
Index to scholarly articles covering topics such as history, music, literature, philosophy and religion.
Exhibit Catalogs from the Collection
Fantastic Women by Call Number: N6494.S8 F36 2020ISBN: 9783777434148Publication Date: 2020-06-13Founded by French writer and poet André Breton in 1924, surrealism was an artistic and literary cultural movement known for its visual art and writings that challenged the power of imagination. But it has been an artistic movement most associated with the famous men who've become household names in art, such as Salvador Dali and Rene Magritte.
Acting Out by Call Number: TR680 .A37 2020ISBN: 9780520306684Publication Date: 2020-06-30Cabinet cards were America's main format for photographic portraiture throughout the last quarter of the nineteenth century. Standardized at 6½ x 4¼ inches, they were just large enough to reveal extensive detail, leading to the incorporation of elaborate poses, backdrops, and props. Inexpensive and sold by the dozen, they transformed getting one's portrait made from a formal event taken up once or twice in a lifetime into a commonplace practice shared with friends.
Alexander Von Humboldt and the United States by Call Number: NX503.7 .H37 2020ISBN: 9780691200804Publication Date: 2020-04-14The enduring influence of naturalist and explorer Alexander von Humboldt on American art, culture, and politics Alexander von Humboldt (1769-1859) was one of the most influential scientists and thinkers of his age.
