Books
Meggs' History of Graphic Design by Call Number: Z246 .M43 2006ISBN: 9780471699026Publication Date: 2005
Browse for books
Browse in these call number areas for books on different topics:
HD - Corporate identity
NC 997-1003 - Commercial art, advertising art
NC 1800-1850 - Poster design
NC 1860-1896 - Cards, book & CD jackets
T 223-305 - Logos and trademarks
TS 195-198.8 - Packaging
Z 242.9-265.5 - Printing and production, typography
Your Librarian
Primary source inspirations
These journals and websites contain great examples from design history.
Journal archives
The Library still has a few journals and magazines for which we have kept historical issues.
- Life (1917-19, 1936-72 and 1983-93)
- Scientific American (1864, 1866, 1895-1988, 1997-2018)
- Time (1924-78, 1981-present)
You can find these in print on the first floor of Jerome Library.
The Library also has several online journal and magazine archives.
- Vogue Archive
A complete, searchable archive of American Vogue, from the first issue in 1892 to the current month. Includes every article, cover, photo shoot, illustration and advertisement, with rich indexing enabling users to find images by designer and brand names.
- Women's Magazine Archive
An archival research resource comprising the full backfiles of leading women's interest consumer magazines.
- New York Times Historical
The entire contents of the New York Times from 1851 to three years ago.
- American Periodicals Series OnlineThe full text of hundreds of American magazines, journals, and newspapers published between 1741 and 1900.
- American Antiquarian Society PeriodicalsFull-text collections of thousands of historical American periodicals, provided by the American Antiquarian Society and published between 1691 and 1912. The collection is fully searchable via a number of filters, and offers multiple navigation options.
Online archives
- Ad*AccessOver 7,000 U.S. and Canadian advertisements covering five product categories - Beauty and Hygiene, Radio, Television, Transportation, and World War II propaganda - dated between 1911 and 1955. From Duke University Libraries.
- Emergence of Advertising in America: 1850-1920Over 3,300 advertising items and publications dating from 1850 to 1920, illustrating the rise of consumer culture and the birth of a professionalized advertising industry in the United States. Also from Duke University Libraries.
- Display: Graphic Design CollectionDisplay is a curated collection of important modern, mid 20th century graphic design books, periodicals and ephemera. The collection is a source of original items for educational, historical and scholarly analysis.
- AIGA Design ArchivesMore than 20,000 selections of communication design dating back to 1924. You can search or browse by collection or criteria.
At the Jerome Library Online
- Popular Culture in Britain and America, 1950-1975
A database of photographs, images, manuscripts, rare printed material documenting the music, politics, fashion and youth culture in America and Great Britain from 1950-1975.
- Digital GalleryDigital collections originating from materials housed in the BGSU University Libraries' archival collections and branch libraries.
Journals
The following journals are some of the most respected covering graphic design.
Communication Arts
Features articles on graphic design firms, advertising agencies and illustrated studies of outstanding people in the field. In print, 1996-present.
Design Issues
Presents a scholarly forum for the history, theory, and criticism of design. Design Issues is online in JSTOR from 1984-2012; Design Issues is online in EBSCO from 1997-1 year ago.
Journal of Visual Culture
Promotes research, scholarship, and critical engagement with visual cultures. The Journal of Visual Culture is online, 2002-present.
Informs and enlighten the graphic design profession with in-depth reporting and critical commentary on the emergent issues, trends, and ideas affecting global visual communications. In print 2004-present; we have Print online 1995-present.
Visible Language
In print 2007-present; Visible Language is full text online 2000-present.
Databases
- Art Full Text & Art Index Retrospective
Indexing for hundreds of international art publications, including peer-reviewed journals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins, with full text provided for many.
- Communication & Mass Media CompleteIndexing, abstracts and full text for journals in communication studies, covering topics such as journalism, mass media, and communicative disorders.
- Oxford Art Online
Oxford Art Online includes the peer-reviewed, regularly updated Grove Art Online, The Benezit Dictionary of Artists, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, The Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, providing access to thousands of articles spanning ancient to contemporary art and architecture, as well as images of works of art, structures, plans, and artist signatures.
Access limited to 3 users at a time.