ARTstor
Video Art since 1995
Browse or search within over 1,800 images of or related to video art created since 1995 in ARTstor. Still from Regenfrau, Pipilotti Rist, 1998-99.
Bill Viola
Browse 53 images of and about work by Bill Viola in ARTstor. Still from The Messenger, 1996.
ARTstor is a database of over a million high-quality digital images. To access it, go to the Libraries' home page and type "ARTstor" into the search box in the center of the page.
Browse
To browse images of video installations, choose "Classification" under "Browse" on the ARTstor landing page.
Next, double-click on "Film, Audio, Video and Digital Art." You will be able to browse or search within a group of over 5,100 images with this classification.
Search By Artist
Type an artist's name as a keyword, or go to the Advanced Search and choose "Creator" from the dropdown menu. You can also limit by date, geography, and classification from the advanced search screen.
You can also access ARTstor by choosing "All Databases" on the Libraries' home page and using the A-Z links to find it by title, or by returning to this or one of our other LibGuides for art students. Once in the database, create an account if you want to download and save images.
Other image databases
Gary Hill, Viewer, 1996. Image from Media Art Net.
- Media Art NetA thematically-arranged website of essays about different topics in new-media art, particularly digital, video and audio art, accompanied by images of works by a variety of artists.
- Rhizome ArtBaseAn online archive of over 2,100 new media artworks encompassing a vast range of projects by artists all over the world. Works employ materials such as software, code, websites, moving images, games and browsers to aesthetic and critical ends. Submissions are reviewed by curatorial staff.
- EuropeanaA portal for finding millions of images, films and other cultural objects from over 2,200 European museums and other cultural institutions.
Other image sources
Explore these important contemporary art museum websites for more exposure to the work of contemporary artists:
- Walker Art Center (Minneapolis)
- Hirshhorn Museum (Washington, DC)
- Kemper Museum of Contemporary Art (Kansas City, MO)
- MCA Chicago
- Whitney Museum of American Art (New York)
- Wexner Center for the Arts (Columbus)
Image of Claes Oldenburg and Coosje van Bruggen's Spoonbridge with Cherry (1985-88, Walker Art Center, Minneapolis) courtesy Deadly Tedly.
Video Databases
- UbuWebAn online repository of avant-garde art in all forms. The film and video category contains works by hundreds of artists and collectives, including Vito Acconci, Piplotti Rist, and Flux.
- Internet Archive: Moving Image ArchiveThousands of open-access films and videos ranging from full-length classic movies to educational and propaganda films to user-submitted video art.
Borrowing Videos
Videorama: Artclips from Austria
a/v N6498.V53 V53 2009, Jerome Library 1st floor
The libraries have a fairly small collection of videos related to new media art. To find them, limit an advanced search in our catalog to Material Type: Audiovisual.
Many more items are available to request through the OhioLINK catalog. Limit your advanced search to "Video recordings only" in order to find audiovisual materials.
