Art Journals in Print
Art Journals at BGSU
African Arts
Aperture
Bomb
Flash Art
Devoted to the study and discussion of traditional, contemporary, and popular African arts and expressive cultures. Full text of African Arts is available in JSTOR (to 2008) and current issues of African Arts are full text from MIT Press.
Devoted to photography as art. Contains illustrated profiles of photographers or thematic material. Full text of Aperture is available in JSTOR (to three years ago) and current issues of Aperture are full text in EBSCO. Also available in print.
Creates, disseminates, and preserves artist-generated content in all disciplines. Full text of Bomb is available in JSTOR (1981-2014). Current issues of Bomb are full text in EBSCO.
An international magazine of contemporary art. Full text of Flash Art is online in EBSCO.
Art in Print
Art Bulletin
Art in America
Frieze
Includes critical and scholarly writing about artist's prints, both historical and contemporary, as well as print information, news, and events. Full text of Art in Print is available online.
Contains research articles on topics from all periods of art history. Full text of Art Bulletin is available in EBSCO.
Deals with art history, antiques, and auctioneering for universities, collectors, dealers, and museums. Full text of Art in America is available in EBSCO. Also in print at Jerome Library.
A leading magazine of contemporary art and culture that includes essays, reviews and columns by forward-thinking contemporary writers, artists and curators. In print in Jerome Library.
Art Journal
Artforum
ARTnews
Mousse
Provides a ideas and opinions that focuses on critical and aesthetic issues in the visual arts of our times. Full text of Art Journal is available in JSTOR (to 4 years ago) and current issues of Art Journal are full text in EBSCO.
Covers the contemporary art world, with sections on architecture, music, advertising and reviews of contemporary exhibitions worldwide. In print in Jerome Library. Some full text of Artforum is available online.
Profiles of artists, surveys of gallery exhibits and international art news. In print at Jerome Library.
A bimonthly magazine of contemporary art containing articles, interviews, conversations, and essays by some of the most important figures in international criticism, visual arts, and curating today. In print in Jerome Library.
E-Flux
Art-Agenda
Contemporary Art Daily
A monthly art publication featuring essays and contributions by some of the most engaged artists and thinkers working today. The full text of e-flux is available online, in PDF format.
Detailed information about exhibitions and projects at many of the leading commercial art galleries, art fairs, and magazines, as well as rigorous and engaging writing on contemporary art. Art-agenda is available online.
A website featuring high-quality images of a different exhibit of contemporary art each day. Available at contemporaryartdaily.com.
Scholarly and Popular in Art
Scholarly journals include articles that cite sources and are written by experts. Popular magazines usually do not. However, a lot of writing about contemporary art does not fall neatly into these two categories. Exhibition reviews, interviews, and portfolios of artists' work are not scholarly articles, but they are still valuable resources for artists and students of contemporary art.
Find traditional scholarly articles by using the limiters in Summon and EBSCO.
For other articles, ask yourself:
- was this written by an expert?
- is this source trustworthy?
- can I verify the information in this article elsewhere?
Best bets for coverage of art journals
Search the full text of many journals at once for the most efficient way to find articles on a particular artist or subject. These are the best to start with.
- Art Full Text & Art Index Retrospective
Indexing for hundreds of international art publications, including peer-reviewed journals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins, with full text provided for many.
- JSTOROver a thousand full-text scholarly journals and books covering all subjects in the humanities, sciences and social sciences. History, economics, art, literature, and mathematics are particularly strong. All journal titles are archived back to the first issue, many dating from the early 1800s.
Finding newspaper articles
Newspapers contain profiles, exhibition reviews, obituaries, and more. Pay close attention to coverage dates for online newspapers! To find a specific newspaper by title, use the "Journals by Title" link under "Search & Find" on the library's home page.
- New York Times HistoricalThe entire contents of the New York Times from 1851 to three years ago.
- ProQuest Global NewsstreamAn online newspaper resource that includes international, national and regional papers such as The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, USA Today, Washington Post, The Guardian, El Norte, Jerusalem Post, and South China Morning Post.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowThe database formerly named LexisNexis Academic is now called Nexis Uni! Contains full-text newspapers, business information, and legal publications, including current news, company profiles, industry information, and federal and state laws and legislation. This is a great option for full text of some web published Atlantic Articles
Biographical sources
- AskART.comA good place to find information about lesser-known artists, view reproductions of work. Entries include bibliographies. Students can purchase full access for 24 hours for $13.50, but much of the site is available for free.
- Archives of American ArtFrom the Smithsonian, includes digitized images, letters, and more as well as descriptions of primary source materials in the Archives, many of which have been microfilmed and can be borrowed through Interlibrary Loan.
- Oxford Art OnlineOxford Art Online includes the peer-reviewed, regularly updated Grove Art Online, The Benezit Dictionary of Artists, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, The Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, providing access to thousands of articles spanning ancient to contemporary art and architecture, as well as images of works of art, structures, plans, and artist signatures.
Access limited to 3 users at a time. - Biography Reference BankBiographical information on approximately half a million people, from antiquity to the present, plus thousands of images.