Welcome!
Welcome to this research guide! I am a librarian on our social sciences team and support the departments of political science and sociology and the school of media and communication. I am happy to work with you to create a plan for searching your topic. Please reach out to me if I can be of assistance.
Best databases for locating Political Science literature
- Summon
Search the BGSU library catalog alongside the vast majority of our journal content at one time using Summon. Find and link to full text articles in scholarly journals and newspapers, ebooks, and images.
Use this link if you are experiencing access issues:
Summon Search - EBSCO Databases
Access to all of the EBSCO databases which the library subscribes to, including our most heavily-used database, Academic Search Complete. Browse a list of all EBSCO databases or use the link above to search them all at the same time. You can also connect to EBSCO then click on "Choose Databases" to link to specific EBSCO databases.
- JSTOR
Over a thousand full-text scholarly journals and books covering all subjects in the humanities, sciences and social sciences. History, economics, art, literature, and mathematics are particularly strong. All journal titles are archived back to the first issue, many dating from the early 1800s. JSTOR now also hosts the complete ArtSTOR collection.
- International Political Science Abstracts
Indexing and abstracts for thousands of leading political science journals published around the world.
Best Databases for Sociology literature
- SocINDEX with Full Text
Index to scholarly publications in sociology, covering topics such as criminal justice, marriage and family, social work, substance abuse, and violence.
- Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full TextFull text articles as well as indexing and abstracting for publications on criminology, corrections and prisons, criminal investigation, forensics, and more.
- LGBTQ+ Source
Indexing, abstracts and full text for journal, magazine, and newspaper articles on LGBTQ+ topics and issues.
- Ethnic Diversity SourceThis full-text database is a dedicated resource covering the culture, traditions, social treatment and lived experiences of different ethnic groups in America. It provides full text from a growing list of sources including peer-reviewed journals, magazines, e-books, biographies and primary source documents.
Best Databases for Communication Literature
- Communication & Mass Media CompleteIndexing, abstracts and full text for journals in communication studies, covering topics such as journalism, mass media, and communicative disorders.
- Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text
Books and articles covering research in television and film.
- Business Source CompleteInformation on all topics in business, including full-text, scholarly journal articles, company information, and industry reports.
