LibGuides: MDIA 4640: Social Media Campaign: Consumer Information

Consumer Research & Reports

Mintel
Research reports for U.S. & European consumer markets. Analyzes market drivers, sizes & trends, market segmentation, along with consumer attitudes & purchasing habits.

Advertising Age
Advertising Age, with Datacenter, provides news, reports, and statistics about the advertising industry. It covers strategic topics for marketers, including breaking news, creative companies, and original rankings. Access articles and data on marketing, media, and agencies, including social media marketing and advertising. For off-campus access follow the database link and then create an account with the “register for free” link in the top right corner. Be sure to register with your BGSU email address to get free access through the library.

Consumer Reporter
This annual report by Richard K. Miller and Associates on trends and patterns in American consumer markets (available via Business Source Complete) has information about buyer behavior and how to influence various demographic groups.

RKMA Publications
Richard K. Miller & Associates (RKMA) publishes 12 biennial business reference handbooks focused on marketing and the consumer marketplace. Each handbook includes market assessments and forecasts, sector trends, profiles of market leaders, and statistics.

RKMA Publications (Richard K. Miller & Associates ebooks)
URL: https://www.rkma.com/bgsu/Jerome/index.cfm
Richard K. Miller & Associates (RKMA) publishes 12 biennial business reference handbooks focused on marketing and the consumer marketplace. Each handbook includes market assessments and forecasts, sector trends, profiles of market leaders, and statistics.
Business-to-Business Marketing 2022
Consumer Behavior 2022
Consumer Marketing 2022
Consumer Use of the Internet & Mobile 2022
Entertainment & Leisure Market Research 2022
Pandemic Impact: Consumer Markets
Restaurant, Food & Beverage Market Research 2022
Retail & E-Commerce Market Research 2022
Sports Marketing 2022
Travel & Tourism Market Research 2022
Statista
Statista includes consumer & brand reports under the "Reports" section.

U.S. Government Data

data.census.gov
This resource replaces the now defunct American FactFinder. This is the U.S. Census Bureau's main vehicle for distributing U.S. census data, including economic censuses and surveys and annual population estimates. Population, housing, economic and geographic data can be found here.

Data.gov
The U.S. Government's collection of open data, free to access.
Consumer Expenditure Survey (Bureau of Labor Statistics)
Click on "Tables created by BLS" to access PDFs that break down spending on types of products or services (i.e. women's apparel) by different groups (income, ethnicity, etc.)
American Time Use Survey
This Bureau of Labor Statistics site measures the amount of time people spend on various activities, such as paid work, childcare, volunteering, and socializing.

Using Mintel

Pro tip! You will need to make an account with your BGSU email before downloading reports from Mintel. It's free and easy, but will be different from your BGSU sign-in information.