What am I Searching?
Library Search is BGSU’s University Libraries search tool. By default, it returns results for materials the library owns or subscribes to, including books, articles, and more. You can refine your search by using the drop-down menu in the search box and selecting from the different search categories.
- e-Books – Limits results to e-books the library owns or subscribes to.
- Browne Popular Culture Library – Limits the search to materials in the BPCL.
- Center for Archival Collections – Limits the search to materials in the CAC.
- Curriculum Resource Center – Limits the search to materials in the CRC.
- Music Library and Bill Schurk Sound Archives – Limits search to materials in the MLBSSA.
- BGSU, OhioLINK and More – Expands the search to include materials available to request from other OhioLINK libraries and beyond. Items can be requested through the interlibrary loan (ILL) process and delivered to you digitally or physically.
What will I find if I search BGSU Libraries?
Searching BGSU Libraries from the dropdown will include results for materials the library owns or subscribes to; this including books, articles, streaming content, and much more. These search results will include both physical and electronic items.
- Books
- Journal articles
- Newspaper articles
- Encyclopedia entries
- Sound Recordings
- Teaching Aids
- Archival Collections
- Movies
What will I find if I choose e-Books?
Choosing e-Books from the dropdown will include results for e-Books the library owns or subscribes to, including:
- All e-books BGSU has access to
- Book chapters
- Encyclopedia entries
What will I find if I choose Browne Popular Culture Library?
If you choose the Browne Popular Culture Library (BPCL) from the dropdown list, it will limit your Library Search results to cataloged items that are located only within our BPCL collections (not the entire library holdings). This includes genre fiction, press kits, movie/tv scripts, comic books, concept art books, mail order catalogs, and more.
Note: Only some of our holdings are cataloged in Library Search. Most of our manuscripts, original artwork, broadsides, posters, subject collections, and other primary sources are better described in Finding Aids in ArchivesSpace rather than catalog records in Library Search.
If you have a research question or have questions about the collections in the BPCL, please visit us at https://www.bgsu.edu/library/pcl.html or send us an email at bpcl@libanswers.bgsu.edu.
What if I choose Center for Archival Collections?
If you choose the Center for Archival Collections (CAC) from the dropdown list, it will limit your Library Search results to individually cataloged items or collection-level descriptions of materials that are located within the CAC (not the entire library holdings). The CAC is BGSU’s home for rare and unique primary sources on the history of BGSU, northwest Ohio, the Great Lakes, student affairs professions, literature, the book arts, and more.
Note: only a small number of our holdings are individually cataloged in Library Search. Most of our archival collections, architectural drawings, local government records, genealogical materials, maps, photographs, and other primary sources are better described in Finding Aids in ArchivesSpace. Digitized content can best be accessed via the Digital Gallery or ScholarWorks rather than through catalog records in Library Search.
If you have a research question or have questions about the collections in the CAC, please visit our website or email us.
What if I choose Curriculum Resource Center?
Choosing Curriculum Resource Center from the dropdown will include results for items available in the CRC, including:
- Teaching Aids
- Picture Books
- Curriculum Guides
What will I find if I choose Music Library and Bill Schurk Sound Archives?
Choosing Music Library and Bill Schurk Sound Archives from the dropdown will include results for items housed in the MLBSSA, including:
- Books
- Sound Recordings
- Scripts
- Etc..
What will I find if I choose BGSU, OhioLINK and More?
Choosing BGSU, OhioLINK and more will expand the search to include materials available to request from other OhioLINK libraries and other libraries across the country. Items can be requested through the interlibrary loan (ILL) process and delivered to you digitally or physically.