Learning outcomes for today's session
-
construct a search strategy for locating literature related to your research question
-
Identify types of research articles to determine relevance and fit for your project
-
Recognize correct APA citation format for journal articles (periodicals)
Exploring Peer-Reviewed Articles in Library Databases
1. Develop a search strategy.
- Identify 2-4 keywords that describe the main concepts that should be represented in the sources you will include in your project.
- Combine each concept with AND
- Use the handout linked below (Generating and Combining Keywords) to learn more about identifying synonyms and related terms for a more thorough and efficient search.
2. Enter the search strategy you created in step 1 into the EBSCO suite of databases (linked below) to search for the scholarly conversation related to your research question.
Pro tip: You can also access the EBSCO suite of databases from our library home page (bgsu.edu/library). It's two tabs over from the default search box, Summon.
- EBSCO DatabasesAccess to all of the EBSCO databases which the library subscribes to, including our most heavily-used database, Academic Search Complete. Browse a list of all EBSCO databases or use the link above to search them all at the same time. You can also connect to EBSCO then click on "Choose Databases" to link to specific EBSCO databases.
Types of articles published in journals
This academic journal icon will appear with many results you find in EBSCO databases. However, you will need to take a closer look at each result to determine if it's a good fit for your project. For this project, you will most likely need to focus your attention on original research studies. The handout below describes the differences between the types of articles published in academic journals.
In-class activity: Identify the type of article
Step 1. Click on the article title.
Step 2. Read the abstract (overview) provided for the article. (If the abstract is not present, click on "find it" or "PDF full text" to look at the full text).
Step 3. Look specifically for the purpose of the article and/or the research method used by the authors.
In-class activity: How is this APA citation different than the examples provided?
Instructions
Step 1. Open this document
- APA Examples (7th Edition)A Word document with examples of in-text and reference list journal article citations
Step 2. Click on the article title.
Step 3. Click on "Cite" in the right-hand column
Step 4. Scroll down until you see APA 7th ed. style
Step 5. Pay attention to details such as: punctuation, format (such as italics), and capitalization. Compare the example citations provided above with the rough draft citation provided by the database.
What Did You Learn?
Ongoing Support for this Assignment
Research Support
- Schedule a one-on-one appointment with your librarian. Use the "Schedule Appointment" button in the "Librarian" box on this page.
- Ask Us!Chat with a librarian or a trained student assistant online
EBSCO Tutorial
- Basic Searching in EBSCO DatabasesOverview of the EBSCO-brand databases, including basic search skills.
Reading Strategies
- Strategies for Reading Scholarly ArticlesHint: DO NOT read from start to finish.
Writing Support (In-person and Virtual)
- BGSU Writing CenterSchedule a writing appointment or email a draft to writing consultants for feedback.
