Start With These Databases
- America: History & Life (EBSCO)Index to scholarly journal articles on the history and culture of the United States and Canada.
- JSTOR
Over a thousand full-text scholarly journals and books covering all subjects in the humanities, sciences and social sciences. History, economics, art, literature, and mathematics are particularly strong. All journal titles are archived back to the first issue, many dating from the early 1800s. JSTOR now also hosts the complete ArtSTOR collection.
Other Useful Databases
- European Views of the Americas: 1493 to 1750A guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750. This database covers subjects such as European exploration, portrayals of Native Americas, and natural disasters, disease, and slavery during this period.
- Humanities International Complete
Index to scholarly articles covering topics such as history, music, literature, philosophy and religion.
- Readers' Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982 (H.W. Wilson)
Index to articles published in the popular press between 1890 and 1982 from hundreds of magazines like Collier's, Harper's, The New Republic, Popular Science, and The Saturday Evening Post.
- Web of Science
Index to articles in scholarly journals and conference proceedings from all fields of study, plus the ability to search these articles' bibliographies by cited author or work. Links to full text are included where possible.
Summon
Summon allows you to quickly search, discover and access reliable and credible library content in digital and print formats, audio and video, single articles and entire e-journals, and every format in between. Enter your terms in one search box, and quickly get credible results in one relevancy-ranked list.
Find Full Text Articles
To find full text journals, see the Journals by Title page.