The book collection in the CRC is open the same hours as the buidling. If you would like assistance from a CRC staff member or if you would like to access the Teaching Aids, lamination or die cuts, plan your visit based on these hours:
Fall/Spring terms
Summer and Intercessions
Use the map of the CRC to browse by section or use the CRC Library Search box to look up titles.
Follow these steps:
1. Navigate to the CRC home page and use the catalog search box.
2. Enter your keywords into the Catalog Search Box on the CRC home page.
3. Look to the left and narrow your search further by LOCATION within the CRC.
Here is a list of possible locations you might see in the left navigation along with a sample call number and what it means.
Location |
Sample Call Number |
More Information |
| CURRICULUM | CURR 372.7 C8328ma 2025 | This is a book in the curriculum section where you will find annotated editions of textbooks, activity books and lesson planning ideas. |
| DESK | CURR TA Assessment | This is an assessment and may be checked out at the Information and Lending desk with assistance from a staff member. |
| DISNEY COLLECTION | JUV DISNEY Disney Ba 2016 | This is a book that is part of the Matthew Hungling disney collection. |
| JUVENILE BIOGRAPHIES | JUV 92 Jobs 2012 | This is a juvenile biography about Steve Jobs. Books in this section start with 92 followed by the person who is the subject of the biography. A book that contains mulitple biographies are shelved after the 92's and begin with 920. |
| JUVENILE FAIRYTALES AND FOLKTALES | JUV 398.2 Perrault 2017 | Books in this section mostly have 398.2 in their call number followed by the author of the fairytale or folktale. They normally woule be in the juvenile nonfiction section but they have their own section since we have so many titles in this collection. |
| JUVENILE FICTION | JUV Seuss, Dr. Ca 1986 | This section contains picture books, early readers and middle grade books. The call numbers in the juvenile fiction section starts with JUV followed by the authors last name, their first name, the first two letters of the title (ommiting any articles like a, an, the), and ending with the year the book was published. |
| JUVENILE NONFICTION | JUV 597.92 Dunn 2018 | This is a book in the juvenile nonfiction section organized by the Dewey Decimal call number system. Books in this section begin with JUV followed by a call number, the authors last name and the publication year. |
| NEW JUVENILE LITERATURE |
JUV Wilson, Kip Al 2025 JUV 932.015 Fox 2024 |
New juvenile literature has the same call number structure as juvenile fiction and nonfiction but the location differs and there is a New Book sticker on the front of the book. This section contains the books recently purchased over the most recent 18 months. |
| PERIODICALS | CURR PER | Children's magazines are referred to as periodicals in the CRC. They all have the same call number of CURR PER. These are located in the Reference collection. |
| REFERENCE | CURR REF 028.52 P87s | Materials such as encyclopedias, bibliographies and indexes are located in the reference area. |
| RESERVES | varies | Items from all over the CRC collection may be put on reserve by a professor. The call number will vary. |
| TEACHING AIDS | CURR TA 372.465 Reading 6745 | Teaching aids (TA) all begin with CURR TA, followed by a call number, the name of the section/content area, ending with a number that is unique to each item. Here is a list of sections within the TA area: games, general education, psychology, social and emotional, early childhood, reading, ELA, world languages, social studies, math, science, technology, health, physical education, music, and art. There are also puppets, big books, and pop ups. |
| YOUNG ADULT FICTION | JUV Maas, Sarah Th5 2023 | Young Adult Fiction has its own section in the CRC. In addition to having orange tape over the call number label on the spine of the book, the call number starts with JUV followed by the author's last name, first name, the first two letters of the title (excluding any articles), a series number (if applicable), and the year of publication. |
Pair keywords with any of these phrases to find specialty items. Be sure to use the quotation marks where indicated with the phrases:
To find materials in specific sections of the CRC, pair keywords with any of these phrases:
To find FICTION by age range, pair keywords with any of these phrases
To find NONFICTION, either use the Dewey Decimal System charts in the collection OR add nonfiction to any keyword search.
To find children's literature that supports content standards, here are some suggestions: