Reference Materials in the LibrarySelected Electronic Resources
Anthologies and BooksSelected Electronic Resources
This is the "Home" page of the "English Literature Studies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

English Literature Studies   Tags: critical studies, english, literature, plays, poetry, short stories  

A guide to English literature and literary criticism.
Last Updated: Jun 30, 2014 URL: http://libguides.bgsu.edu/litstudies Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Class LibGuide

Tailored guides for English courses 

 

Library Call Numbers

The following sections for books are related to British literature in English:
PR 1-76; PR 161-479: Literary History and Criticism
PR 1490-2165: Early and Middle English (pre-1500)
PR 2199-3195: Renaissance (1500-1640)
PR 3291-3785: 17th and 18th centuries (1640-1770)
PR 3991-5990: 19th century (1770/1800-1890/1900)
PR 6000-6076: 20th century
PR 6100-6126: 21st century

The following sections for books are related to American literature in English:
PS 185-195; PS 700-893: 17th and 18th centuries
PS 201-217; PS 991-3990: 19th century
PS 221-228; PS 3500-3576: 20th century
PS 229-231; PS 3600-3626: 21st century

Full list of P class call numbers here

 

Peer Reviewed or Scholarly FAQ

What are scholarly or peer reviewed articles?

Professors often require students to find scholarly and peer reviewed articles. These items:

  • generally focus on scholarly research
  • are written by experts in the field or discipline
  • are critically reviewed  by other experts before publication
  • contain cited references to the information sources used

How do I find scholarly or peer reviewed articles?

Many of the library's databases (e.g. Academic Search Complete, Business Search Complete, and PsycInfo) contain scholarly or peer reviewed material and allow you to limit your search to include only these articles in the results. Use the advanced search feature in a database to find the option to limit to this type of search. 

Check the Ulrich's database to see if a journal is considered scholarly or is refereed (aka peer-reviewed).

In some disciplines, differences between scholarly and trade publications are not crystal clear. Your professor is the final arbiter of what is scholarly in a specific academic field of study. 

Click here for more information on scholarly, popular and trade publications.

 

LibraryH3lp

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

Literature Resources from the University Libraries

Welcome! Use this subject guide to help get you started with your literature research. Books, research databases, selected websites, and tips for and general information on using library resources, within the building or available on the internet, are all included. Depending upon the scope and depth of your research, you may use resources within the Poetry tab to find a poem to write about, or you may need to browse multiple topics within this guide--for example, moving from text to plot summary to criticism, to complete a larger project. However you use this guide, if you get stuck don't forget to Ask Us!

Find articles and criticism within the databases.

Databases with specialized content are listed within the subtabs as appropriate.

The core databases for general literary research are:
  • Literature Resource Center
    Information about authors and their works; includes biographies, portraits, critical essays, excerpts of literary criticism, summaries of works, and full text journal articles. Much of the content was originally published in such Gale series as Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism, Twentieth Century Literary Criticism, Short Story Criticism, etc.
  • MLA International Bibliography
    Indexes books and articles on modern languages, literature, literary theory, criticism, folklore, drama, and linguistics. Only scholarly content is included.
  • Academic Search Complete
    Indexes, abstracts, and full text for many scholarly and popular publications covering all academic areas of study, including literature and literary criticism.
  • Literary Reference Center (LRC) [EBSCO]
    Comprehensive, completely full-text literary reference database that provides a broad spectrum of reference information from antiquity to the present day. The LRC combines information from over 1,000 books and monographs, major literary encyclopedias and reference works, hundreds of literary journals, and unique sources not available anywhere else.
 

Getting Started at the University Libraries

  1. To borrow items from the libraries, you need your BGSU photo ID and a current record in the library database. For more detailed information, see Borrowing, Renewing, and Requesting
  2. For remote access to the online research databaseslogin in with your BGSU user name and password (same as for campus email, MyBGSU, and BGSU lab and library computers.)
  3. If the University Libraries doesn't have what you need, chances are that OhioLINK does. OhioLINK is the 80+ academic (and some public) libraries that lend their resources to one another through an online requesting system. Look for the "Request this item" button in the OhioLINK catalog. For more detailed information, see OhioLINK requesting.
  4. We're here to assist you! If you need help using the library, can't find what you want, have an assignment and need help getting started, Ask Us! for immediate help. Besides drop-in help, the University Libraries offer Individual Research Appointments for undergraduates & graduate students.
 

Name that novel!

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Chris Miko

Also check out...

English Department at BGSU

The Music Library/Sound Recording Archives for recordings of writers reading their works. Find these items in the library catalog by limiting Material Type to: Spoken Word Recording.

The Browne Popular Culture Library for lots of great resources: magazines from the late 1800s to the present; books on popular and American culture; television and film scripts; alternative press materials from the 60s and 70s; and much, much more.

The Center for Archival Collections for diaries, journals, photographs, manuscripts, and numerous other primary source materials. Be sure to check out the items in the Rare Books and Special Collections link to find collections of Walt Whitman, Ray Bradbury, and more.

      
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip