Skip to main content
BGSU University Libraries

Art History: Finding articles

Art History Journals at BGSU

 

African Arts Antiquity Aperture cover Apollo

African Arts
Devoted to the study and discussion of traditional, contemporary, and popular African arts and expressive cultures. Full text online in JSTOR (to 2008), and full text online in Art Full Text (EBSCO) (to 2011).

Antiquity
Provides reports on work in archaeology. In print at Jerome Library (to present) and full text online in Art Full Text (EBSCO).
Aperture 
Devoted to photography as art. Contains illustrated profiles of photographers or thematic material. In print at Jerome Library (to present) and full text online in Art Full Text (EBSCO), 1997 to present.
Apollo
Deals with art history, antiques, and auctioneering for universities, collectors, dealers, and museums. In print at Jerome Library (to present).
Archives of American Art Art and Antiques Art Bulletin Art in America
Archives of American Art Journal
Covers all aspects of American art history from the 18th century to the most recent past . Includes fresh and uncommon perspectives on American cultural and social history. In print at Jerome Library (to present) and full text online in JSTOR.
Art & Antiques
Designed for art collectors and connoisseurs. Covers fine art, artists, antiques, beautifully crafted furniture, and intriguing collectibles. In print at Jerome Library (to present) and full text online in Art Full Text (EBSCO).
Art Bulletin
Contains research articles on topics from all periods of art history. Full text online in Art Full Text (EBSCO).
Art in America
Covers contemporary art worldwide. In print at Jerome Library 1997 to present or full text online in Academic Search Complete (EBSCO), 2002 to present.
Art Journal cover Artforum ARTnews cover Bulletin of the Metropolitan Museum of Art
Art Journal
Provides a ideas and opinions that focuses on critical and aesthetic issues in the visual arts of our times. Full text online in JSTOR, and full text online in Art Full Text (EBSCO).
Artforum
Covers the contemporary art world, with sections on architecture, music, advertising and reviews of contemporary exhibitions worldwide. In print at Jerome Library, 1996 to present.
ARTnews
Profiles of artists, surveys of gallery exhibits and international art news. In print at Jerome Library 1997 to present.
Bulletin of the Metropolitan Museum of Art
General information on art in the museum's collections; each issue organized around a category or an artist. In print at Jerome Library (2004-present) and full text online in JSTOR.
   Burlington Magazine Cabinet
Burlington Magazine
Fine art magazine, international in scope, covering all periods from antiquity to the present day. In print at Jerome Library (2004-present) and full text online in JSTOR.
Cabinet
Contains articles, interviews, commissioned projects, and special sections on international art and culture. In print at Jerome Library (2012-present).
Frieze
A leading magazine of contemporary art and culture that includes essays, reviews and columns by forward-thinking contemporary writers, artists and curators. In print at Jerome Library (2013-present).
Mousse
A bimonthly magazine of contemporary art containing articles, interviews, conversations, and essays by some of the most important figures in international criticism, visual arts, and curating today. In print at Jerome Library (2013-present).
   Parkett Visible Language Winterthur Portfolio Woman's Art Journal
Parkett
Documents European and American contemporary art. Each issue covers several important artists and is produced in close collaboration with those artists. In print at Jerome Library (2012-present).
Visible Language
Independent, interdisciplinary, international scholarship in visible language - typefaces, signs, letterforms, word art and more. In print at Jerome Library (2004-present) and full text online in Art Full Text (EBSCO).
Winterthur Portfolio
Contains articles on the arts in America and the historical context in which they developed. Emphasizes analytical studies that integrate artifacts into their cultural context. Full text online in JSTOR (to 2015) and University of Chicago Press Journals (to present).
Woman's Art Journal
Provides a forum for examining feminist concerns of the women's art movement. Covers issues related to women in all areas of the visual arts. In print at Jerome Library (2004-present), full text online in JSTOR and full text online from the publisher.

Getting full text

While databases like JSTOR contain full text, many other databases only contain descriptions of articles. Here's how to get to full text when it's not in the database you're searching:

Click on the "Find it!" button

If there is full text in another database, you will be taken to the article in that database.

If we have the journal in print, you will see the catalog record with its location.

If there is not a link to full text, there will be a link to Interlibrary Loan.

To place an interlibrary loan request, you must create an ILLiad account, which can be found under "Services" on the library's home page. ILL requests for articles and book chapters are often filled very quickly, because libraries usually scan the articles and deliver them to you online as a pdf.

Best bets for scholarly articles

Search the full text of many journals at once for the most efficient way to find articles on a particular artist or subject. These three are the best to start with.

Also good for articles

These databases may lead you to additional sources.

Finding newspaper articles

Newspapers contain profiles, exhibition reviews, obituaries, and more. Pay close attention to coverage dates for online newspapers! To find a specific newspaper by title, use the "Journals by Title" link under "Search & Find" on the library's home page.

Online sources for biographical information

Art Journals Online