Skip to main content
Internet Sites with Primary Sources for U.S. History
Search this Guide
Internet Sites with Primary Sources for U.S. History: Maps
A collection of pages that include primary sources for the study of U.S. history
To 17th Century
States & Regions
Internet Sites With Maps
American Antiquarian Society Collection
Early maps of North America
American Migration (Interactive map)
American Revolution and Its Era: Maps and Charts of North America and the West Indies, 1750-1789
American Shores: Maps of the Middle Atlantic Region to 1850
Atlases, Maps and Park Plans of Cleveland and Cuyahoga County
Atlas of Historical County Boundaries
An interactive atlas of county boundary changes for all states. This isn't a primary source, but could be very useful.
Atlas of the Historical Geography of the United States
Boston Streets: Mapping Directory Data
Cities and Towns (Library of Congress)
Collection of Digitized Kansas Maps
David Rumsey Map Collection
eHistory: Maps & Images
Enumeration District and Related Maps, 1880 - 1990
Federal Home Owners' Loan Corporation (HOLC) Maps (Redlining Maps) for Ohio Cities
Federal Newsmaps (WW II)
Gutman and Starin Map Collections (maps of Maryland)
Harvard Map Collection: Digital Maps
Historical Map & Chart Collection (U.S. Office of Coast Survey)
Historical Map Archive (University of Alabama)
Historical Map Collection (University of Delaware)
Historical Topographic Maps (U.S. Geological Survey)
Indiana Historic Atlases
Lewis and Clark Expedition Maps
Library of Congress: Digital Map Collections
Mapping a New Nation: Abel Buell's Map of the United States, 1784
Mapping Early American Elections (1787-1825)
Mapping the French Empire in North America
Maps and Atlases in Our Collection (Wisconsin Historical Society)
Maps of Delaware and the Mid-Atlantic Region
Maps of the Pimeria: Early Cartography of the Southwest
Maryland Map Collection
McCasland Digital Collection of Early Oklahoma and Indian Territory Maps
Includes Indian Reservations maps 1879-1920
National Geologic Map Database (USGS)
Nevada in Maps
North Carolina Maps
Uses aerial photographs to show how areas of NY City have change from 1924 to 2010.
NYC Space/Time Directory
Old Maps Online
Panoramic Maps, 1847-1929
Perry-Castaneda Library Map Collection: Historical
Perry-Castaneda Map Collection: Other Historical U.S. Map Sites
Planning Maps of Midwestern Cities in the 1920s and 1930s
Railroad Maps, 1828-1900
Rare Map Collection (University of Georgia)
Revolutionary War Era Maps from the Hessian State Archives
Ripley Line Project (Underground Railroad in Ripley, OH)
Rochambeau Map Collection (18th c.)
Southern Nevada and Las Vegas: History in Maps
United States Enumeration District Maps for the Twelfth through the Sixteenth US Censuses, 1900-1940
USGS Historical Topographic Map Explorer
Sanborn (and other) Fire Insurance Maps
California: San Francisco 1899-1900
California: San Francisco 1905
Hawaii (Dakin Fire Insurance Maps) 1891-1906
Indiana: Indianapolis 1887-1941
Indiana: Muncie 1883-1911
Missouri: Kansas City 1895-1957
Missouri: St. Louis 1870-1898
New Hampshire 1880s-1940s
New Jersey 1884-1950
New York: New York
North Carolina 1880s-1950s
Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps (Library of Congress) Includes many states
Includes maps from many states.
South Carolina 1884-1923
Texas: Fire Insurance Maps
Vermont: Fire Insurance Maps of Vermont 1869-1922
Virginia: Charlottesville 1907
Washington: Everett, 1892-1893, 1902, 1904, 1914
Wisconsin: Milwaukee 1894 and 1910
States & Regions
Apr 10, 2018 4:14 PM
Login to LibApps
Report a problem.
United States history
Use this guide in Canvas
Linking from a page
Either add a new page, or edit an existing page.
Enter and then select the text that will be linked.
“Link to URL” button in toolbar.
Paste the following URL into the dialog, and “Insert Link”:
Make sure you save your changes.
Embedding in a module
Either create or choose a module, and press the
“Add Content” button next to it.
Choose “External URL” from the “Add to Test Module” dropdown.
Paste the following URL into the “URL” field:
Specify the “Page Name”.
Press the “Add Item” button.
Remember to publish your changes.