This is the "Home" page of the "Art History" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Last Updated: Aug 4, 2014 URL: http://libguides.bgsu.edu/arthistory Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Five essential databases

  • Art Full Text
    1929-present. Great for research in art history and theory as well as contemporary artists. Includes articles from international art journals, magazines, yearbooks, and museum bulletins. Some full text.
  • JSTOR
    1603-three years ago. A wonderful source for full-text scholarly articles in history and art history. Includes 19th century art journals and museum publications. Full text.
  • Oxford Art Online
    Online encyclopedia great for finding information about individual artists and movements. Includes the important and comprehensive Grove Dictionary of Art. Full text.
  • WorldCat
    Use WorldCat to find and request books in libraries all over the United States, Europe and Asia. Perfect for finding exhibition catalogs that may only be owned by a few libraries.
 

Library graphic novel

Research Fairy

The Research Fairy by Geneva Hodgson

One way to learn about the library is to look at the BGSU student-created graphic novel from 2009: The Library After Dark.

 

About the Library

The Library is located next to the art building. We have books, journals, DVDs and special collections as well as online databases.

Books
Many art and architecture books are located on the first floor of the library in the N's; photography can be found on the 8th floor in the T's. Don't forget the oversized books! Also on the first floor, these contain many of the best images.

To check out books, use your BGSU ID.

Journals
The library has print journals from 1997 to the present. Older volumes can be requested from the Depository. Print journals are on the first floor in alphabetical order by title. In addition, there are magazines and fanzines like Art Freak and Flygirl in the Music Library and Popular Culture Library.

Current issues of print journals cannot usually be checked out, but the library has scanners and color copiers on the first floor. Older issues (bound volumes) can be checked out.

DVDs and videos
DVDs and videos are on the first floor by the oversized books, in the Popular Culture Library, and online.

Students can check out first-floor DVDs and videos for one week and DVDs from the Popular Culture Library for 3 days.

Online databases
Databases are the best way to find articles, but they are good for finding books and images, too. Databases for art historians are mostly in the Arts & Humanities and Image & Media lists. See the box on this page called "Five Essential Databases" for a few really good ones, or click on the Articles tab for more options.

Log in from off campus using your BGSU e-mail username and password.

 

Special collections

Don't forget our Special Collections!
You may not be able to take all of these materials out of the library, but you can usually photograph, copy or scan them.

Popular Culture Library
The Browne Popular Culture Library, on the 4th floor, has a wealth of visual materials, including graphic novels, zines, comic books, posters, postcards, magazines and more.

Music Library
The Music Library & Sound Recordings Archives, on the 3rd floor, has album art, posters, and zines as well as music.

Curriculum Resource Center
The Curriculum Resource Center, on the 2nd floor, has puppets, games, picture files, illustrated children's books, pop-up books, K-12 teaching aids, and the Ellison Machine, which will punch out an amazing variety of shapes from paper or cloth.

Librarian for the School of Art

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip