Skip to main content
BGSU University Libraries

Library Workshops: Fall 2015

Workshop Dates

Hands-on History: Learn how to locate primary sources in University Libraries’ Special Collections (Stefanie, Sam, Lindy, Nancy)

Dates/Times

Oct. 29 10:00-11:45am

Location

Pallister Conference Room, 1st Floor Jerome Library

Special Notes

20 students max per session

                                                                                                                                                   

RefWorks: Learn how to use RefWorks, a web-based citation management tool, to import and organize your citations and generate bibliographies or reference lists. (3 sessions) (Lisa & Linda)

Dates/Times

Sept. 9 11:00 – 12:00pm (20max); Sept. 25 11:00 – 12:00pm (10-12max); Sept. 30 3:00 – 4:00pm (20max); Oct. 6 10:00 – 11:00am (10-12 max)

Location

Sept. 25 & Oct. 6: Large groups study room, 1st floor Jerome Library
Sept. 9 & Sept. 30: Pallister Conference Room

Special Notes

10 to 20 students depending on the session; students need to bring their own devices; For Write-n-Cite, students need to have MS Word installed on their device before the workshop.  

 

Library Basics for International Students: This session will be informal, so feel free to come with specific questions or concerns you might have from your own research experiences in the library. We will explore differences between U.S. academic libraries and those in other countries, show which databases are best for your research, learn timesaving tips to find research articles, and learn about the research process, citation styles, and plagiarism. If time permits, we will also have a tour of the library!   (3 sessions) (Eileen, Bess & Jennifer N.)

Dates/Times

Oct. 6 4:00-5:00pm; Oct. 7 3:00-4:00; Oct. 13 5:30-6:30; Oct. 15 2:45-3:45

Location

Library Room 142, 1st Floor Jerome Library

Special Notes

33 students max per session

 

Making the Most of University Library: This presentation is designed to introduce students to important services and access points of the BGSU University Libraries. It is ideal for new students that want to know all about the library and how to navigate the library website.

Dates/Times

Will take place on demand. Please register and a librarian will contact you to set up a time.

Location

Library Room 142, 1st Floor Jerome Library

 

Science Databases and Resources: Identify and explore the various science subject databases provided through University Libraries to students. (3 sessions) (Chris & Science Team)

Dates/Times

Sept. 14: 11:00 – 12:00pm; Sept. 17: 6:00 – 7:00pm; Oct. 15: 3:00 – 4:00pm

Location

Pallister Conference Room, 1st Floor Jerome Library

Special Notes

25 students max per session

 

Searching Databases in Other Languages Than English: Many of the BGSU library databases contain newspapers, magazines and journals published in languages other than English. And some have the capability to translate the texts of the articles into other languages. This workshop will provide some pointers on how to find library resources and articles in other languages than English. (2 sessions) (Eileen & Lang & Culture Team)

Dates/Times

Oct. 5 1:30-2:30; Oct. 14 5:00-6:00

Location

Library Room 142, 1st Floor Jerome Library

Special Notes

33 students max per session

 

Library Resources for Women’s, Gender, and Sexuality Studies — Meet and Greet the “Languages & Culture” librarians and learn about the various library resources & services available for Gender, and Sexuality Studies students at the University Libraries. (2 sessions) (Eileen & Lang & Culture Team)

Dates/Times

Will take place on demand. Please register and a librarian will contact you to set up a time.

 

Government Documents & Information: This presentation will give attendees an introduction to the virtual and tangible collections of government documents available from the BGSU Libraries. It will cover four types of government information searches: the known item search, the topic search, the agency search, and the statistical search. (Carol)

Dates/Times

Oct. 5 4:00-5:00pm

Location

Library Room 142, 1st Floor Jerome Library

Special Notes

Limited to 33 attendees

 

Using Online Historical Newspapers: This presentation will give attendees an overview of sources of online historical newspapers, including subscription databases available from the BGSU Libraries and freely available sources of newspapers and provide hints for using these sources. (Carol)

Dates/Times

Oct. 14 4:00-5:00pm

Location

Library Room 142, 1st Floor Jerome Library

Special Notes

Limited to 33 attendees

 

Finding primary Sources Online: This presentation will cover major sources of online historical primary sources. (Carol)

Dates/Times

Oct. 19 4:00-5:00pm

Location

Library Room 142, 1st Floor Jerome Library

Special Notes

Limited to 33 attendees