Useful Print Indexes
- Cumulative Subject Index to the Monthly Catalog of U. S. Government Publications, 1900 to 1971, 14Call Number: GOV DOCS REF Z1223.A1973x v.1-15ISBN: 9780840800015Publication Date: 1975-01-01
Cumulative Title Index to United States Public Documents, 1789-1976 by Call Number: GOV DOCS REF Z1223.Z7 L47 J83 v.1-16ISBN: 0882220349Publication Date: 1978-03-01
Documents Collections
The BGSU Libraries house collections of United States, Ohio, Bowling Green, and Canadian government documents. It can be tricky finding government documents, but your best bet is to start with the databases below and reach out to a librarian for more help if needed. The below LibGuide may also offer assistance.
- BGSU Libraries CatalogStart by searching this catalog to see if BGSU owns the document. All of the documents in our Canadian, Ohio, and Bowling Green documents collections have been cataloged. However, not all U.S. government documents have been cataloged. You will also find links to online government information in the catalog.
- OhioLINK Library CatalogSearch for books, periodicals, electronic resources and other items in the 100+ OhioLINK member libraries.
- Catalog of U.S. Government PublicationsThis indexes publications issued by the U.S. government from 1976 to date. Some records include links to the full text of the document or Internet site.
- Monthly Catalog of U.S. Government PublicationsCommonly referred to as the Monthly Catalog or MoCat, this publication lists all of the publications produced by the U.S. Government Printing Office from 1895 to 2004. Initially intended to supplement the Documents Catalog, the Monthly Catalog served as the “comprehensive index” provided for in the Printing Act of 1895 after the Documents Catalog was discontinued in 1947. The Monthly Catalog was discontinued with the December 2004 edition, after which point the continuously updated Catalog of U.S. Government Publications (CGP) served that purpose.
- ProQuest CongressionalProQuest Congressional is a comprehensive database that searches across current and historical documents of the United States Congress, many of which are included in full text. It includes the U.S. Serial Set (the published working papers of Congress), Congressional Hearings, the Congressional Record (through 1997) and hundreds of thousands of House and Senate reports, State of the Union messages, Congressional journals, hearings, high-resolution maps, and more.
- HeinOnline U.S. Statutes at LargeFull-text searchable images of every page of the Statutes at Large in PDF format, beginning in 1789. Also includes earlier Federal Codes, Compilations of Statutes, and other related documents.