Index to scholarly journal articles on the history and culture of the United States and Canada.
Coverage: articles published 1964 to present
Users they may not use the Databases and Services in combination with an artificial intelligence tool (including to train an algorithm, test, process, analyze, generate output and/or develop any form of artificial intelligence tool). Notwithstanding anything to the contrary, Licensee and Authorized Users may use, transmit, view, or store the content or outputs from the Database, Services, or e-content in any software tools and/or systems that may have artificial intelligence tools running therein
Index to scholarly journal articles from international historical journals, covering the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present.
Users they may not use the Databases and Services in combination with an artificial intelligence tool (including to train an algorithm, test, process, analyze, generate output and/or develop any form of artificial intelligence tool). Notwithstanding anything to the contrary, Licensee and Authorized Users may use, transmit, view, or store the content or outputs from the Database, Services, or e-content in any software tools and/or systems that may have artificial intelligence tools running therein
Over a thousand full-text scholarly journals and books covering all subjects in the humanities, sciences and social sciences. History, economics, art, literature, and mathematics are particularly strong. All journal titles are archived back to the first issue, many dating from the early 1800s. JSTOR now also hosts the complete ArtSTOR collection.
Full text articles as well as indexing and abstracting for publications on criminology, corrections and prisons, criminal investigation, forensics, and more.
Users they may not use the Databases and Services in combination with an artificial intelligence tool (including to train an algorithm, test, process, analyze, generate output and/or develop any form of artificial intelligence tool). Notwithstanding anything to the contrary, Licensee and Authorized Users may use, transmit, view, or store the content or outputs from the Database, Services, or e-content in any software tools and/or systems that may have artificial intelligence tools running therein
An interdisciplinary collection of hundreds of high quality, peer-reviewed, scholarly journals in the humanities, arts, and social sciences. All titles in the Standard Collection are full text.
Coverage: Mostly 2006 to the present
Users: Unlimited simultaneous users
Contains: BGSU has purchased 86 titles on Project MUSE and has access to around 1,800 open access titles. The collection is particularly strong in humanities and social sciences subjects.
Best for: A wide range of academic subjects
Printing: From pdfs
Download: Each chapter is a downloadable pdf
Compatible with: Anything with a web browser, pdf
An index covering all aspects of culture, history, and life of Indigenous peoples in North America.
Users they may not use the Databases and Services in combination with an artificial intelligence tool (including to train an algorithm, test, process, analyze, generate output and/or develop any form of artificial intelligence tool). Notwithstanding anything to the contrary, Licensee and Authorized Users may use, transmit, view, or store the content or outputs from the Database, Services, or e-content in any software tools and/or systems that may have artificial intelligence tools running therein
When conducting your research, it is important for you to distinguish between journal articles and magazine articles. Databases are used to find and identify articles from peer-reviewed journals and other types of documents.
Journal articles are usually referred to as "scholarly," while magazine articles are commonly considered "popular."
Consider these points when differentiating between journals and magazines:
| Criteria | Scholarly Journal | Popular Magazine/Blog/Online Publication |
| Audience | Academics and/or Researchers, Professionals | General Public |
| Authors | Experts and/or Specialists | Journalists and/or Freelance Writers |
| Editorial Review/Peer Review | Journal Editorial Board and peer reviewers | Professional Editors |
| Reference/Works Cited | Yes | Not always required or provided |