Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

HIST 3365 Drugs and Alcohol in American History: Books

This guide is a compilation of library and Internet resources that may be useful for researching the history of alcohol and drugs in the United States.

Start Here To Search for Books

When you know the title of the item you are seeking, the first step is to search by title in an online catalog.

HathiTrust Digital Library

The HathiTrust Digital Library provides access to a database of digitized books and other materials.  You can search the catalog, search full text, or browse the public collections.  Note that not all books are available full text.

To find only those books that are available full text, you can search the catalog using the link above and click on the box next to "Full View Only." 

To do a more complex search, click on the "advanced catalog search" link. You can also select "Full View Only" on this page.

Internet Archive

To search for a book, type in a search term in the search box on the home page and select "Texts" from the drop down search box. 

If you want to do a more complex search, click on the "advanced search" link to the right of the search box on the home page.  This allows you to customize your search in many ways.

Google Books

To search for only full text books:

  • Go to the "advanced book search"
  • Fill in the elements of your search
  • From the Search: line, choose Full View Only
  • Click on the Google Search button

Useful Reference Books

These books may help you organize your research by providing background information about people, events, substances, etc. Encyclopedia articles also frequently identify important sources for a topic.

Finding Books That Include Primary Sources

One way to identify books that are primary sources is to look for books written by people who were involved in the event or activity you are researching.  When you look at secondary sources, write down the names of people and then look for them as authors.

In the BGSU Libraries Catalog, the OhioLINK Central Catalog, and WorldCat, books that have been assigned subjects with the subheadings in the list below might be primary sources.  However, don’t expect that a book that includes primary sources will always include one of these words or phrases in a subject heading.  Also, these subheadings are not used in other databases.

--Diaries
--Correspondence
--Biography
--Sources
--Anecdotes
--Personal narratives
--Interviews

Examples:

Alcoholism -- United States -- History -- Sources

Alcoholics -- Biography

Drug Addicts -- Personal Narratives

Drug Dealers -- United States -- Biography

Marijuana -- Anecdotes

Prohibition -- Anecdotes

Substance Abuse -- United States -- History -- Sources

Temperance -- Personal Narratives