It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Predatory Journals and Publishers: Identifying a Journal for Your Article
This is a guide that compiles information about predatory journals and publishers, with links to resources that help researchers identify those journals and publishers.
When your article is ready to publish, you want to identify a journal that will enhance its impact on the field. You can do that by finding a journal that publishes the most appropriate subjects for your article, that is highly regarded, and is indexed in the most appropriate database(s).
Identifying Highly Regarded Journals
Journal Impact Factors
This box is adapted from one authored by Vera Lux. For more information about impact factors and citation metrics, see her LibGuide, Who's Citing Me?
An evaluative tool that uses citation and article counts to determine the most frequently cited, highest impact, or largest journals in an academic field or discipline. BGSU's subscription includes rolling access to 5 years' worth of data.
Search for a Specific Journal
1. From the JCR homepage, select the
Search for a specific journal option.
2. Click Submit to display the Journal
3. Select one of the following search
options: Full Journal Title, Journal
Abbreviation, Title Word, or ISSN.
4. Enter your search query. Capitalization
does not matter. Use the asterisk (*)
wildcard in the search query to find all
journals that match the search query.
Publish or Perish is a software program that retrieves and analyzes academic citations. It uses Google Scholar to obtain the raw citations, then analyzes these and presents the following statistics:
* Total number of papers
* Total number of citations
* Average number of citations per paper
* Average number of citations per author
* Average number of papers per author
* Average number of citations per year
* Hirsch's h-index and related parameters
* Egghe's g-index
* The contemporary h-index
* The age-weighted citation rate
* Two variations of individual h-indices
* An analysis of the number of authors per paper.
The results are available on-screen and can also be copied to the Windows clipboard (for pasting into other applications) or saved to a variety of output formats (for future reference or further analysis). Publish or Perish includes a detailed help file with search tips and additional information about the citation metrics.
The Journal Quality List is a collation of journal rankings from a variety of sources. It is published primarily to assist academics to target papers at journals of an appropriate standard. The list was originally collated while the editor, Prof. Anne-Wil Harzing, was associated with the Bradford University School of Management (1997-2001). Since then, the list has been updated and extended periodically to keep it current. It is now in its 59th edition.
Questions to ask a potential publisher, from the Royal Society Te Aparangi (New Zealand)
Find Appropriate Journals in Library Databases
You can search the most heavily used database(s) in your field to find appropriate journals for your manuscript. Go to the BGSU Library's list of Databases and choose the appropriate topic. Then search, using keywords from your title or abstract, to find journals that might be a good fit.
The Web of Science database includes access to EndNote. Once you sign into your EndNote account, click on the Match link in the toolbar to access the search engine. Enter the title and/or abstract of your article and the database will display journals that match and are indexed in Web of Science. You'll need to sign up for an EndNote account in order to access this feature.