Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Grants for the Arts
Toledo Arts Commission
The Toledo Arts Commission website connects artists to grant opportunities as well as other tools and services for working artists in Northwest Ohio.
Toledo Community Foundation
An organization that serves as a clearinghouse for distributing endowed gifts that support community needs in Toledo such as social services, the arts, education, natural resources, and more.
Ohio Arts Council Grant Program
Includes grant application forms, guidelines, deadlines, and grant programs.
The Knight Foundation supports journalism, community initiatives and the arts in eight U.S. cities, including Detroit and Akron.
Andrew W. Mellon Foundation
The Mellon Foundation makes grants in humanistic scholarship and the visual and performing arts, among other areas.
The Dedalus Foundation fosters a greater public understanding of modern art and modernism through fellowships and awards programs for research, arts education, exhibitions and more.
Supports grant initiatives that increase access to museum collections, strengthen art history as a global discipline, advance conservation practice, and support current and future leaders in the visual arts.
Metropolitan Museum Art History Fellowships
Fellowships at The Met are an opportunity for scholars from around the world to use the Museum as a place for exchange, research, and professional advancement.
National Endowment for the Arts
Established by Congress in 1965, the NEA is the independent federal agency whose funding and support gives Americans the opportunity to participate in the arts, exercise their imaginations, and develop their creative capacities.
National Endowment for the Humanities
Awards grants to cultural institutions, such as museums, archives, libraries, colleges, universities, public television, and radio stations, and to individual scholars.
Smithsonian Office of Fellowships & Internships
Opportunities for fellowships, internships, research and study.
New York Foundation for the Arts
"NYFA's mission is to empower artists at critical stages in their creative lives. NYFA is the largest provider of grants, services, and information to artists working in all disciplines in the United States."
This federal site includes comprehensive information about government grants.
Foundation Directory Online Quick Start
A free, limited version of the comprehensive subscription database Foundation Directory Online, from the Foundation Center. You must register to starting using FDO Quick Start.
Philanthropy News Digest RFPs
A listing of recent calls for proposals by grant-making organizations, organized by subject. Go to "Arts/Culture" under the RFPs dropdown to view all calls in that category.
Grants: List from Cranbrook Academy of Art Library
Has a list of regional grants, including international, near the bottom.
Worldwide network of artist-residencies and residential art centers. Has an "upcoming deadlines" list and a monthly e-newsletter.
Alliance of Artists Communities
Artist's communities in the U.S. Can search by artistic category and region.
Artist Opportunity Monthly
Sign up to receive monthly notifications of opportunities, including residencies, grants and fellowships. Free and paid versions are available.
International opportunities for funding, studio space, and residencies.
A searchable database of over 40,000 grant opportunities from more than 10,000 global sponsors. Use SPIN to search for research grants, fellowships, training and various other funding opportunities. Use SPIN to access funding information online and organize grant information in one convenient place. Access courtesy of the BGSU Office of Sponsored Programs & Research. For more information, email email@example.com
You can request recent volumes of these print directories through the OhioLINK catalog.
Call Number: OhioLINK
Publication Date: 2017
Includes chapters on finding funding sources and budgeting.
Writing Successful Grant Proposals by
Call Number: online
Publication Date: 2015
In simple steps, Writing Successful Grant Proposals highlights key things savvy proposal writers do to attract and secure prospective funders.
Grant Writing for Dummies® by
Call Number: online
Publication Date: 2014-03-31
Learn to: navigate federal grant databases and apply online for grants, find the most current public and private sector grant opportunities, create strong statements of need, and submit applications that meet funders’ expectations.
Proposal Writing: Effective Grantsmanship for Funding by
Call Number: HV41 .C548 2017
Publication Date: 2016-10-25
The updated Fifth Edition of the best-selling Proposal Writing: Effective Grantsmanship for Funding offers a fresh, robust presentation of the basics of program design and proposal writing for community services funding.
Types of Fulbright Awards
Types of Fulbright Awards
Fulbright U.S. Student Program: Open Study/Research Awards
The Fulbright Study/Research grant is the traditional award opportunity where a candidate designs a proposal for a specific country. Open to recent bachelor's-degree recipients, master's and doctoral condidates, or professionals with up to five years experience.
English Teaching Assistant Awards
The Fulbright English Teaching Assistant programs place grantees in schools overseas to supplement local English language instruction and to provide a native speaker presence in the classrooms.
- Core Fulbright U.S. Scholar Program
Awards for college & university faculty, administrators, other researchers and experienced professionals. Search awards, or learn more about the program.
Fulbright-National Geographic Digital Storytelling Fellowship
The Fulbright–National Geographic Digital Storytelling Fellowship provides a unique platform for American Fulbright students to develop global narratives and discuss commonalities across borders around a common issue or theme. Trained, supported, and mentored by National Geographic Editors, Fellows will use new media platforms to help build ties across cultures while enhancing mutual understanding. The digital content that they produce will be featured online in various places, including, most prominently, a blog hosted by National Geographic.
Critical Language Enhancement Award
The Critical Language Enhancement Award provides a supplement in the Fulbright U.S. Student Program for grantees to receive between three and six months of intensive language study in addition to their research or study grants.
Applying for a Fulbright, Step 1: Review the Fulbright Program
Research the Fulbright Program on their website using the links below. Review the types of grants and the application process. Learn more about the program and how to apply from their tutorials, recorded webinars, and other resources.
Applying for a Fulbright, Step 2: Research your project and country
If you have an idea for a project and there is a particular country you'd like to apply to than research is your first step! Your project needs to be specific, unique and able to fit within the allotted time frame. Get started with these links:
Applying for a Fulbright, Step 3: Research International Affiliations and Contacts
OneSiteEurope (Directory of Development Organizations)
Over 47,000 organizations of all kinds listed by region and country. Covers the entire world (not just Europe).
Index of Graduate School Directories
Search graduate programs by curriculum, field of study, subject, school and location.
UN NGO Database
Non-Governmental Organizations database compiled by the NGO Liaison Office of the Director-General's Office at UNOG. Use the search box at the upper right of this page to search by keyword, or click on "advanced search" for more options.
Worldwide NGO Directory
"The World Association of Non-Governmental Organizations (WANGO) is an international organization uniting NGOs worldwide in the cause of advancing peace and global well being. WANGO helps to provide the mechanism and support needed for NGOs to connect, partner, share, inspire, and multiply their contributions to solve humanity’s basic problems." The keyword search is more effective than the area of focus search on this website.
Guides from different institutions with resources about applying for grants.