Skip to main content

HIST 3380 American Environmental History: Biographical & Genealogical Resources

This guide compiles library and Internet sources on American environmental history for use in HIST 3380.

Biographical & Historical Resources

One of the most relevant sources for this project is: Commemorative, historical and biographical record of Wood County, Ohio: its past and present, early settlement and development ... biographies and portraits of early settlers and representative citizens, etc. The source is available in print and online.

Print

Online

These resources may also be useful

Genealogical Resources

Wood County District Public Library

Wood County District Public Library has a wide variety of records and documents about the history of Wood County and the people who lived there.

Among the online resources available from WCDPL are:

1. African American Heritage

This database focuses on records of American Americans, including census, slave records, Freedman's Bank, military records, etc.

2. Ancestry (NOTE: This database is available only in the WCDPL)

Includes an incredible variety of databases, such as population and housing manuscript censuses (information about individual people), agricultural manuscript censuses (information about individual farms), land records, probate records, tax records, birth/marriage/death records, obituaries, newspaper articles, etc.

3. Fold3 (NOTE: You can access this database remotely if you have a WCDPL library card)

This database is best known for military records, but it also has a wide variety of other records, such as homestead records, naturalization records, and newspapers from Fort Wayne, Indiana.

4. Heritage Quest (NOTE: You can access this database remotely if you have a WCDPL library card)

This database has census records, land records, probate records, church records, naturalization records, etc.