LibGuides: HIST 6820: History of Capitalism: Government Docs

Start Here

A good place to start is to search for the topic in these catalogs.

BGSU Libraries Catalog
Start by searching this catalog to see if BGSU owns government publications on your topic or if the library has cataloged relevant government Internet sites. All of the documents in our Canadian, Ohio, and Bowling Green documents collections have been cataloged. However, not all U.S. government documents have been cataloged.
OhioLINK Central Catalog
If BGSU doesn't own documents on your topic, try the OhioLINK Central Catalog. It contains the holdings of the libraries at more than 80 colleges and universities throughout Ohio, many of which have government documents collections.
WorldCat
WorldCat is a database of the holdings of many libraries throughout North American and other countries. If you identify a document you want to borrow, you can use your Interlibrary Loan (ILL) account to request it. This database is available to BGSU faculty, staff and students, and to walk-in users.
ProQuest Congressional 1789 - present
Includes digitized full text of Congressional Record and precursors 1789-present; U.S. Serial Set (House and Senate documents and reports) 1789-present; and Congressional hearings 1980-2003.
Catalog of U.S. Government Publications 1976 - present
Contains more than 500,000 records describing U.S. government publications published since 1976.
govinfo (formerly FDSYS)
govinfo is a service of the United States Government Publishing Office (GPO) which provides free public access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government.

What Documents Collections Do We Own?

University Libraries collects federal, state, local, and Canadian documents. These collections are located on the first floor of Jerome Library next to the bound periodicals stacks.

United States Federal Documents Collection
BGSU became a federal depository in 1933 and we have more than 700,000 publications in the collection

Ohio State Documents Collection
We began receiving Ohio publications in 1953 and we now own more than 31,000 documents published by Ohio agencies.

Bowling Green City Documents Collections
This very small collection includes City Council Minutes, Mayor's Reports, and City Ordinances, among other city published titles.

For more information about each of these collections, see:

Government Information
by Rebecca Stanwick Last Updated Mar 26, 2024 73 views this year

More About Government Information

For more about finding government information, see:

Government Information
by Rebecca Stanwick Last Updated Mar 26, 2024 73 views this year

United Nations

Index to Proceedings 2008-
This is a subject index to all documents issued and all speeches delivered for the General Assembly (2008/2009-), the Economic and Social Council (2009-) and the Security Council (2009-)
Official Document System of the United Nations
A database of full text United Nations documents.
United Nations Digital Library
Explore documents, votes, speeches, public domain publications and more
UN Documents
Links to many full text UN documents.
United Nations home page
UN System of Organization
The official index of UN Organization websites, arranged alphabetically or thematically, as well as links to the UN News Centre and to the permanent missions.

Other Useful Databases and Web Sites

Audiovisual Library of International Law
Includes texts, videos, etc. about international legal instruments promulgated by the United Nations. Includes videos of legal lectures, texts of treaties and laws, documents about these instruments, and links to sites with other resources about international law.
Hansard 1803-2005
Searchable database of parliamentary debates
LLMC Digital (Law Library Microform Consortium)
Historical legal titles and government documents from around the world, although the focus is on U.S. federal and state material. All documents are full text.
Official Document System of the United Nations 1946-present
A database of full text United Nations documents. Most of the documents are from 1993 to present, but they are gradually adding documents from as early as 1946.
Intergovernmental Organization Search Engine
The Intergovernmental Search Engine searches the web sites of many international government organizations. It's a good place to start your search for documents of international government organizations.
European Union
the official web site of the European Union.
Organization for Economic Co-Operation and Development
The official Internet site of the OECD. It includes data, country reports, publications, etc.
World Bank
The official Internet site of the World Bank. This site Includes publications, data, etc. from the World Bank.
Cobbett's Parliamentary History
Digitized version of Cobbett's Parliamentary History, a major source for the history of 18th century England.

A Few of the Web Sites with Historical Documents Collections

Avalon Project at Yale Law School: Documents in Law, History and Diplomacy
EuroDocs: Online Sources for European History
League of Nations Statistical and Disarmament Documents
United Nations Treaty Collection
Searchable database of U.N. treaties. This also includes treaties of the League of Nations.