It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
HIST 6820: History of Capitalism: Articles
This is a compilation of library and Internet resources that may be useful for students in HIST 6820 History of Capitalism, taught at Bowling Green State University in Fall 2015.
An index to articles, books, dissertations, etc. on the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered by the America: History & Life database).
Summon is a new service that allows you to quickly search, discover and access reliable and credible library content in digital and print formats, audio and video, single articles and entire e-journals, and every format in between. Enter your terms in one search box, and quickly get credible results in one relevancy-ranked list.
Citations for books, book chapters, journals, articles, audiovisuals, and other resources held by the federal government's National Agricultural Library (NAL) and by other entities that cooperate with the NAL. Topics encompass all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines, including plant and animal sciences, forestry, entomology, soil and water resources, agricultural economics, agricultural engineering, agricultural products, alternative farming practices, and food and nutrition.
Searchable database of full text articles from a wide variety of American periodicals published between 1741 and the mid 1940's. This a great place to find articles, illustrations, recipes, poems, ads, etc. published during this time period.
Provides information on all topics in business, including marketing, management, MIS, accounting, finance and economics. In addition to journal and magazine articles, the non-journal content includes financial data, books, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country research reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.
EconLit covers the international literature on economics and provides citations and abstracts for journal articles, books and book chapters, dissertations, and working papers, as well as papers in conference proceedings and full text book reviews. Topics cover all fields of economics, including capital markets, country studies and econometrics; economic development, forecasting, and history; fiscal and monetary theory; business and public finance; international, regional, urban, environmental and health care economics, and more.
Indexing, abstracts and full text for journal articles, monographs and conference papers on environmental topics including agriculture, ecosystem ecology, renewable energy sources, pollution & waste management, environmental law, and more.
Digitized version of Harper's Weekly, a leading national weekly during the second half of the nineteenth-century, providing information and insights on political, military and social issues and events.
Free Internet site with browsable and searchable of six British magazines: Annual Register (1758-1778), Blackwood's Edinburgh Magazine (1843-1863), Gentleman's Magazine (1731-1750), Notes and Queries (1849-1869), Philosophical Transactions of the Royal Society (1757-1777), and The Builder (1843-1852)
The National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER) sponsors and disseminates research that promotes a greater understanding about how the economy works. This database contains the full text of all NBER Working Papers from 1973 to the present – academic papers written for NBER by economists and other scholars. Topics cover economic issues related to aging, asset pricing, children, corporate finance, developing countries, the development of the American economy, education, economic fluctuations and growth, health, industrial organization, international finance and macroeconomics, international trade and investment, labor studies, law, monetary issues, productivity, public economics, and technical issues.