Skip to main content
BGSU continues to make critical decisions to slow the spread of the novel coronavirus in the best interests of our campus community based upon state and federal guidance. Jerome Library is closed, but staff are working remotely to assist you.
What's up on this page
Remember that the more specific you are with your research, the better the search results will be for you. One way to get specific with your research is to be more specific about where you are conducting this research. This page is a wonderful resource for you as you are looking to get specific with your own searching. And remember that you can always ask a librarian for help if you need it.
There are tips here on searching in:
- government documents
- specialized databases
(A note about Wikipedia: While it's not a good idea to cite Wikipedia as a source, it is a great starting point, especially if you focus on the references, see also, and external link sections to find more scholarly information about the topic.)
Finding Newspaper Articles
Newspaper Source provides cover-to-cover full text for 185 national & international newspapers and selected full text for 392 regional U.S. newspapers. It also contains newswires, newspaper columns, full text television & radio news transcripts, and cover-to-cover full text for The Christian Science Monitor and The Washington Post. 1985 to present, with some coverage back to 1960.
Full-text newspapers, business information, and legal publications, including current news, company profiles, industry information, and federal and state laws and legislation.
ProQuest Global Newsstream
An online newspaper resource that includes international, national and regional papers such as The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, USA Today, Washington Post, The Guardian, El Norte, Jerusalem Post, and South China Morning Post.
Finding Government Documents/Agencies
BGSU Libraries Government Documents
This page is maintained by librarians at BGSU and provides access to government information at the federal, state and local levels.
BGSU Libraries Catalog Search for Government Documents
Click on the link above to access the BGSU Libraries catalog. To search specifically for government documents, enter the keywords you are searching for, then use the "Location" drop down box to select Government Documents.
BGSU Libraries Catalog
Enter your keywords. Scroll down the search screen and select your preferred type of Video Recording in the pull down box. Selecting ALL will get you VHS & DVD.
Digital Video Collection
Part of the OhioLINK Digital Media Center, the Digital Video Collection Educational Films & Documentaries contains over 2,300 full-length videos on a wide variety of subjects. The collection currently includes videos from two distributors, Ambrose Video and Films for the Humanities & Sciences. Digital Videos are in Real Media format and require RealPlayer to view.
Finding Videos LibGuide
The purpose of this guide is to present a collection of resources that will assist you in finding videos using BGSU Libraries resources, as well as freely available Web resources.
A streaming service for thousands of videos from major educational film producers and distributors.
Videos and channels from colleges and universities, containing instructional videos, lectures, and more.
Data.census.gov is the new platform to access data and digital content from the U.S. Census Bureau. The vision for data dissemination through data.census.gov is to improve the customer experience by making data available from one centralized place so that data users spend less time searching for data content and more time using it.
PolicyMap is an online US national data and mapping tool and analytics platform for demographic and socioeconomic analysis. PolicyMap data can be presented as maps, tables, charts and pre-built reports that can be incorporated into papers, presentations, blogs and websites.
Statista is an online statistics portal providing access to data from market and opinion research institutions, as well as from business organizations and government institutions.
More Specialized Library Research Databases
You may need to use a more specialized article database depending on how discipline-specific your topic is. For example, if you select a topic that has something to do with teacher compensation at charter schools, you would need to use an education database that has more in-depth coverage than what Academic Search Complete provides. Below is a list of links to a wide range of more discipline-specific databases to explore, and you can also browse our Databases by Subject page.
Business Source Complete
Provides information on all disciplines of business. In addition to journal and magazine articles, content includes financial data, books, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.
Education Research Complete
A comprehensive database of articles about all fields of education, including curriculum instruction, administration, policy, funding, and related social issues. Most coverage is from 1925 to present, but some titles go back as far as 1882.
GreenFILE offers well-researched but accessible information covering all aspects of human impact on the environment. Topics covered include global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection covers emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry and psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods.