Welcome
Welcome to the CDIS library guide. This guide will help BGSU CDIS students prepare for the Peer Review assignment and also conduct a literature search for the research paper project. Click on the Peer Review tab to begin.
Searching Tutorials
- PubMed Simple Search VideoFrom the National Library of Medicine, a simple search tutorial for PubMed.
- Finding Systematic ReviewsPreselected strategies for finding Systematic Reviews in Pubmed.
- Saving Citations in PubMed to Citation Manager (RefWorks)Detailed instructions to save, or export citations
Chat With Us
Databases for your Literature Search
- CINAHL Plus with Full TextClick on "Advanced Search" under the Basic Search box. Search results can be limited by the following options:
Peer Reviewed
Special Interest - Speech-Language Pathology/Audiology - Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA)
Index to articles, books, and other publications about the nature and use of language. Topics include phonetics, phonology, syntax, and semantics.
- MedicLatina
Spanish-language medical research and investigative journals from Spanish and Latin American medical publishers, pediatrics, neurology, cardiology
- PsycINFO 1887-CurrentClick on "Advanced Search" under the Basic Search box. Search results can be limited by the following options:
Peer Reviewed
Classification Code:
3270 Speech & Language Disorders
3385 Speech & Language Therapy
Methodology: Empirical Study - PubMedNote: many vendors provide databases that search similar content from the National Library of Medicine. If you are comfortable with the Ebsco search engine you can search MEDLINE with Full Text as an alternative to PUBMED. If PUBMED provides too many results, and you are unsure how to proceed, try the PubMed with Clinical Queries search which uses a filter to limit your results.
- Web of Science
Index to articles in scholarly journals and conference proceedings from all fields of study, plus the ability to search these articles' bibliographies by cited author or work. Links to full text are included where possible.
- speechBITE:Speech Pathology Database for Best Interventions and Treatment EfficacyThis is a freely available "database of intervention studies across the scope of speech pathology practice."
- TripA freely available "clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care."
