Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
General Sources of Data
Re3Data.org: Registry of Research Data Depositories
a tool for helping people identify and locate online repositories of research data. Users and bibliographers create and curate records that describe data repositories that users can search. Hundreds of data sources are cataloged in this resource.
The purpose of DATA.GOV is to increase public access to high value, machine readable datasets generated by the Executive Branch of the Federal Government. Data.gov provides descriptions of the Federal datasets (metadata), information about how to access the datasets, and tools that leverage government datasets.
Open Access Directory of Data Repositories
Maintains lists of open access data repositories for a wide range of subject areas.
Dataset Search from Google
Dataset Search is a search engine for datasets
Select Humanities Data Sources
There are thousands of data sources for the Humanities. Contact your subject librarian for guidance with identifying more specific data sources.
National Endowment for the Humanities
As part of their Open Access mandate, NEH provides the high-value datasets in XML format. These datasets may also be found on the Data.gov portal.
Stanford Literary Lab
The Stanford Literary Lab — founded in 2010 by Matthew Jockers and Franco Moretti — discusses, designs, and pursues literary research of a digital and quantitative nature. The Lab is open to all students and faculty at Stanford — and, on a more ad hoc basis, to students and faculty from other institutions.
WordSeer is a text analysis environment that combines visualization, information retrieval, sensemaking and and natural language processing to make the contents of text navigable, accessible, and useful.
Select Science Data Sources
There are thousands of data sources for the Sciences. Contact your subject librarian for guidance with identifying more specific data sources.
Atmospheric Radiation Measurement (ARM) Climate Research Facility
Data collected through the routine operations and scientific field experiments of the ARM Climate Research Facility are stored at and distributed through the Archive. These data are available free of charge to the public.
Global Biodiversity Information Facility
Information on the data publishers, datasets and data networks that share data through GBIF, including summary information on 9962 datasets from 456 data publishers.
U.S. Dept. of Health and Human Services has begun "liberating" health data through the Health Data Initiative -- making more and more data from HHS' vaults (from CMS, CDC, FDA and NIH, to name a few sources) easily available and accessible to the public and to innovators across the country.
NASA's Global Change Master Directory
The Global Change Master Directory (GCMD) is a directory to Earth science data and services. The GCMD database currently holds more than 25,000 Earth science data sets and services covering all aspects of Earth and environmental sciences.
NASA's Planetary Data System
The PDS archives and distributes scientific data from NASA planetary missions, astronomical observations, and laboratory measurements.
Open Energy Info
Open Energy Information (OpenEI) is a knowledge sharing online community dedicated to connecting people with the latest energy information and data. More than 800 data sets available.
Worldwide Protein Data Bank
The mission of the wwPDB is to maintain a single Protein Data Bank Archive of macromolecular structural data that is freely and publicly available to the global community.
Select Social Science Data Sources
There are thousands of data sources for the Social Sciences. Contact your subject librarian for guidance with identifying more specific data sources.
ICPSR (Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research)
The Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) is a membership-based organization providing access to the world's largest archive of computer-based research and instructional data for the social sciences
World Historical Dataverse
Historical data sets for many countries. Includes economic data, opium use, demographics, silver, trade, disease, slaves, mortality, etc.
World Bank Data Catalog
The Data Catalog provides download access to over 8,000 indicators from World Bank data sets.
The Qualitative Data Repository
Hosted at Syracuse University, QDR stores and preserves data and the website provides detailed guidance on data topics.
This resource replaces the now defunct American FactFinder. This is the U.S. Census Bureau's main vehicle for distributing U.S. census data, including economic censuses and surveys and annual population estimates. Population, housing, economic and geographic data can be found here.