It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
HIST 3910: Race and Gender in Early America: Articles (Secondary Sources)
Library and Internet resources that will be useful in studying and researching about race and gender in early America.
Full text articles from scholarly journals on many topics, including history. You can search groups of journals, by subject, or search individual titles. This is an archival collection, so you usually won't find journal from the most recent 3-5 years, but you will find back files of journals that may go back to the 19th century.
Searchable database of full text articles from a wide variety of American periodicals published between 1741 and the mid 1940's. This a great place to find articles, illustrations, recipes, poems, ads, etc. published during this time period.
Searches citations to scholarly articles and papers on all topics from over 10,000 journals and 110,000 conference proceedings. It includes three parts: Arts and Humanities Citation Index (1975-present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1965-present), and Science Citation Index Expanded (1965-present). This database is particularly useful for citation searching.
The Web of Science™ and InCites™ will be removing support for Internet Explorer 11 on May 31, 2021. We recommend you switch to a supported browser such as Chrome, Firefox, or Microsoft Edge. Please contact the Clarivate support team if you have any questions.
Summon is a new service that allows you to quickly search, discover and access reliable and credible library content in digital and print formats, audio and video, single articles and entire e-journals, and every format in between. Enter your terms in one search box, and quickly get credible results in one relevancy-ranked list.
If you like to use a smart phone, pda, or another handheld device to search for books and articles, the Mobile Platforms and Library Resources page will provide you with information about databases and other online resources that offer special mobile platforms for you to use.
Useful Print Indexes
International Index to Periodicals, 1907 - 1965 MAIN REF INDEX AI 3 .R49
Poole's Index to International Literature, 1802 - 1906 MAIN REF INDEX AI 3 .P7
Social Sciences & Humanities Index, 1965 - 1974 MAIN REF INDEX AI 3 .R49
Social Sciences Index, 1974 - 1998 MAIN REF INDEX AI 3 .S62