Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
American Periodicals Series Online, 1741-1900, 1741 - 1940's
Searchable database of full text articles from a wide variety of American periodicals published between 1741 and the mid 1940's (despite the dates in the title). This a great place to find articles, illustrations, recipes, poems, ads, etc. published during 1741-1763. NOTE: This database is available to BGSU students, faculty, and staff and walk-in users.
Internet Library of Early Journals
Free Internet site with browsable and searchable of six British magazines: Annual Register (1758-1778), Blackwood's Edinburgh Magazine (1843-1863), Gentleman's Magazine (1731-1750), Notes and Queries (1849-1869), Philosophical Transactions of the Royal Society (1757-1777), and The Builder (1843-1852)
Pre-1750 Newspapers in the Microform Collection at BGSU
Full Text Online Newspapers
Access NewspaperARCHIVE, coverage varies: 1700's - presen
This database contains millions of searchable newspaper pages from Ohio. Dates of coverage vary, but some newspapers are available back to 1800. Some newspapers have coverage for only a few years, while others have coverage for long spans. NOTE: This research database is available only to BGSU Faculty, Staff, and Students, and Walk-In Users.
Accessible Archives, 1728-1898
Full text primary sources from 18th and 19th century America, mainly newspapers. Includes important colonial papers: the Pennsylvania Gazette (1728-1800) and the Virginia Gazette (1736-1780) and several South Carolina newspapers (1732-1780). NOTE: This database is available to BGSU students, faculty, and staff and walk-in users.
Geography of Slavery in Virginia
A database of ads from 18th & 19th century Virginia newspapers for runaway and captured enslaved people
You can identify newspapers that were published in a particular place at a particular time by using the historical newspaper directory at the Chronicling America web site.