Home
Welcome!
This guide is designed to assist you in completing your semester-long project for SOC 2020 with Dr. Margaret Weinberger
Activists
Interest Groups and Advocacy Organizations
- Project Vote SmartProject Vote Smart reports on performance evaluations from all special interest groups who provide them, regardless of issue or bias.
- Open Secrets: Organization ProfilesEach organization profile tracks campaign contributions from the organization's employees and members, its PAC and from the organization itself, only when it gives to outside groups. Each profile also tracks the organization’s lobbying activity to influence public policy
- Wikipedia: Organizations by SubjectThis category gathers together categories of organizations by the subject or topic of the organization; its advocacy or mission
Experts
Scholarly Research
- SocINDEX with Full Text
Index to scholarly publications in sociology, covering topics such as criminal justice, marriage and family, social work, substance abuse, and violence.
- Social Work Abstracts
Indexing and abstracts for articles in social work and human services journals.
- Environment CompleteIndexing, abstracts and full text for journal articles, monographs and conference papers on environmental topics including agriculture, ecosystem ecology, renewable energy sources, pollution & waste management, environmental law, and more.
- Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full TextFull text articles as well as indexing and abstracting for publications on criminology, corrections and prisons, criminal investigation, forensics, and more.
- Ethnic Diversity SourceThis full-text database is a dedicated resource covering the culture, traditions, social treatment and lived experiences of different ethnic groups in America. It provides full text from a growing list of sources including peer-reviewed journals, magazines, e-books, biographies and primary source documents.
- Gender Studies DatabaseIndex to articles, books and book chapters, conference proceedings, dissertations and more dealing with topics in women's studies, men's studies and sexual diversity issues.
Policy Organizations and Think Tanks
- Policy CommonsCollection of research from the world’s leading policy experts, think tanks, IGOs and NGOs. At last count it contains over 3 million publications from more than 24,000 organizations.
- Open research reportsJSTOR hosts a growing curated collection of more than 50,000 open research reports from 187 think tanks and research institutes from around the world.
Media
News Sources
These databases are available onlly to students, faculty and staff of Bowling Green State University and walk-in users. These sources include newspaper, news media, and other sources. Make sure to limit your search results to the type of information you are seeking.
- ProQuest Global NewsstreamAn online newspaper resource that includes international, national and regional papers such as The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, USA Today, Washington Post, The Guardian, El Norte, Jerusalem Post, and South China Morning Post.
- Ethnic NewsWatch, 1979 - present (U.S. Only)A database that searches the full text of newspapers, magazines and journals published by the ethnic, minority and native press of the United States.
- Internet Archive's TV News Archive
Internet Archive's TV News Archive provides free access to more than a million closed captioned clips from TV news shows dating back to 2009, with options to filter by network, show, or date range.
Your Librarian
Public
Public Opinion/Polling
- Statista
Statista is an online statistics portal providing access to data from market and opinion research institutions, as well as from business organizations and government institutions.
- Pew Research Center Publications
Full text reports, analysis, news and data from the Pew Research Center, a nonpartisan research organization that conducts public opinion polls and social science research.
- ICPSR (Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research)
A vast archive of social science data for research and instruction, containing thousands of digital files of social science research data in political science, sociology, economics, criminal justice, and more.
Policy
Law, Legislation, and Policy
- ProQuest CongressionalProQuest Congressional is a comprehensive database that searches across current and historical documents of the United States Congress, many of which are included in full text. It includes the U.S. Serial Set (the published working papers of Congress), Congressional Hearings, the Congressional Record (through 1997) and hundreds of thousands of House and Senate reports, State of the Union messages, Congressional journals, hearings, high-resolution maps, and more.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
The database formerly named LexisNexis Academic is now called Nexis Uni! Contains full-text newspapers, business information, and legal publications, including current news, company profiles, industry information, and federal and state laws and legislation.
- GovInfo
GovInfo provides free public access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government, with comprehensive advanced search and browse options. Some things you can find in GovInfo include: Budget of the United States, Commerce Business Daily, Congressional Directory, Congressional Record, Economic Indicators, Economic Report of the President, Government Accountability Office Reports, U.S. Government Manual, and the Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents. GovInfo replaced FDsys in 2018.
- National Survey of State Laws
This resource provides an overall view of many controversial legal topics in the United States: abortion, the right to die, gun control, prayer in public schools, marijuana, marriage, personal income tax, drunk driving, capital punishment, right to work, lemon law, leases and other agreements, child custody, legal ages, and many other areas.
- Federal RegisterThe Federal Register is the official journal of the federal government of the United States that contains government agency rules, proposed rules, and public notices. It is published every weekday, except on federal holidays.