Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Summon Help: Problems Linking to Full Text

Troubleshooting

Are you having problems linking to full text?

Take a look at our Troubleshooting LibGuide for help with login and other problems.

Troubleshooting access problems

Can't log in? Can't access full text? Try the following:

  1. Try a different browser
  2. Check your login
  3. Use the alternate access link
  4. Make sure you're using a proxied link
  5. Make sure you're using a persistent link
  6. Log in through OhioLINK

If you are having problems accessing library resources, contact the Research & Information Desk.

You can also report problems via email to eresources (at) lists.bgsu.edu. 

Proxy a link for off campus use

For a link to work from off campus, it has to be proxied. Proxied links contain "ezproxy" and will prompt you to log in.

To proxy any link, add this to the beginning of a url:
http://ezproxy.bgsu.edu/login?url=

Unproxied link to JSTOR:
http://www.jstor.org/stable/40651623
(will not work from off campus)

Proxied link to JSTOR:
http://ezproxy.bgsu.edu/login?url=http://www.jstor.org/stable/40651623
(will work off campus)

Switch proxies

You can “re-proxy” many EZProxy links to use our other proxy server.

First, remove the EZProxy prepend, in bolded blue in the following url: 

http://ezproxy.bgsu.edu/login?url=http://www.jstor.org/stable/40651623

Add a “0-“ (zero dash) and “.maurice.bgsu.edu” (dot maurice dot bgsu dot edu) to the remaining url (in bolded blue on the following):

http://0-www.jstor.org.maurice.bgsu.edu/stable/40661623

Key Contacts

Sonia Duran (eresources staff)
eresources (at) lists.bgsu.edu

Linda Rich (reference coordinator)
lrich (at) bgsu.edu

Mark Strang (library IT manager)
mstrang (at) bgsu.edu

Amy Fry

Laura Sheets's picture
Laura Sheets

Troubleshooting problems linking to full text

Are you unable to access a full text article in an e-journal?

1) Sometimes when you are linking to full text from Summon or Find It, you might get to a blank page or a page with just a frowney face. In that case, use the navigation bar on the right side of the screen (you may need to reopen it if it has collapsed). Scroll down to the bottom and click on the link that says "Open content in a new tab."

Frowny face? Blank screen? Scroll down on right and click the link to 'Open content in a new tab'.

2) Use our Journal Title List to see if it is available from another source. Search by journal name and check coverage by year.

For example, if you want the 2013 article "Rebirth" by Mariko Mori from Architects' Journal, you can search Architects' Journal in the Journal Title List to see which databases have full text for 2013 and link to them.
Each link to full text from the Journal Title list will include coverage dates for the journal.

The Journal Title List will also tell you if we have the journal in print or microfilm.

Try a different browser

Google Chrome      Mozilla Firefox      Safari      We recommend avoiding Internet Explorer for library research.

 

 

It's always a good idea to have more than one browser on your computer, because different resources work differently in different browsers, and login errors can get saved in your cache even if they are just temporary. Many login errors are resolved by trying a different browser. If you can't use a different browser, try clearing your cache and search history. Please also keep in mind that the library does not recommend Internet Explorer or Edge for library research, because these Microsoft browsers cause the most problems with our resources.

Use the alternate access link

If you cannot log in to EZProxy, try to find and use the alternate access link. Here are alternate access links for Summon & EBSCO:

 

To find the Alternate Access Link for other databases, go to the All Databases list (on our homepage under the search box).

The All Databases link is on the library's home page under the Summon search box

Find the database you want in the list and click the "more" link underneath the description to show the Alternate Access Link. 

The "more" link will display beneath the description of a database and will lead you to the alternate access link.

Sometimes, a link on our website may take you to the description of a database.

If you are able to log in using an alternate access link but are unable to log in to EZProxy, a firewall in your network may be blocking EZProxy. This most frequently happens in:

  • K-12 schools
  • government buildings and offices
  • hospitals

Please contact us at eresources (at) lists.bgsu.edu for more assistance.

Check your login

If you are off campus, you should be prompted to log in to EZProxy before you can access an article or ebook. Make sure you are entering your username and password correctly.

 

What happens on the EZProxy Login Screen when you enter your login incorrectly

If you try to log in with a valid username but the wrong password 20 times within 5 minutes, the system will block you from logging in for 10 minutes.

If you try to log in with invalid information 20 times within 5 minutes, the system will block your IP for 10 minutes.

If you get an error message:

  • make sure your username and password are working by trying to log in to MyBGSU. If not, you can change your password there or contact Campus ITS for more assistance.
  • If you are unable to request materials make sure there is not a problem with your library account. Log in to MyBGSU and go to "Students" --> "Libraries," then scroll down to "Library Account At A Glance" and check your account expiration date. If your account has expired, then you need to contact BGSU Registration and Records to check on your university status.

In the Library Account at a Glance, the expiration date of your account appears beneath your name.

Check user limits

Some databases require you to set up a special account to use the database or certain features. Others are limited to just a few or only one user at a time. Some of these resources include: ARTstor, Intelliconnect (CCH), SciFinder, and Naxos, among others. Use the All Databases list to check for special access notes about the resource you are trying to use.

Use restriction notes will appear in the database description on the all databases list.

Likewise, some of our ebooks are limited to just a few or only one user at a time. You will find notes about this in the catalog, next to the url for each book.

Ebook user limit notes appear beneath the ebook information in the catalog, within the link connecting to the book.