LibGuides: Chemistry: Articles & Databases

Try these first

American Chemical Society (ACS) Journals
Full text for the dozens of journals published by the American Chemical Society, each accessible back to the first issue.
Coverage: Varies by title; some content back to 1879

Drug Bank Online
DrugBank Online is a comprehensive, free-to-access, online database containing information on drugs and drug targets. As both a bioinformatics and a cheminformatics resource, we combine detailed drug (i.e. chemical, pharmacological and pharmaceutical) data with comprehensive drug target (i.e. sequence, structure, and pathway) information.
PubChem
National Library of Medicine chemistry search to draw structures, search compounds, substances, or BioAssays. "PubChem mostly contains small molecules, but also larger molecules such as nucleotides, carbohydrates, lipids, peptides, and chemically-modified macromolecules. We collect information on chemical structures, identifiers, chemical and physical properties, biological activities, patents, health, safety, toxicity data, and many others."

PubMed
A service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine, PubMed includes over 17 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to the 1950s. PubMed includes links to full text articles and other related resources.
Mobile access
SciFinder
SciFinder provides access to the world's most comprehensive and authoritative source of references, substances, and reactions in chemistry and related sciences. It includes the Chemical Abstracts database, which contains references to millions of journal articles and related documents. Users can search by chemical substance or reaction, research topic, author, or specific CA or patent reference.
All users must register for an account using their official BGSU email address.
Any commercial use of SciFinder Scholar is prohibited by Chemical Abstracts Services. Thus, patentability research and research performed with the intention of delivering results outside BGSU are not allowed.
Web of Science
Index to articles in scholarly journals and conference proceedings from all fields of study, plus the ability to search these articles' bibliographies by cited author or work. Links to full text are included where possible.

Worldwide Protein Data Bank
The mission of the wwPDB is to maintain a single Protein Data Bank Archive of macromolecular structural data that is freely and publicly available to the global community.

Additional Resources

Derwent Innovations Index
Database of patents in chemical, electrical, electronic and mechanical engineering. Each patent is indexed and includes an abstract for enhanced searching.

Is It a Scholarly Journal?

Journals by Title: This search identifies scholarly journals and links to full text the library has available.

Ulrich's International Periodicals Directory: Entries include information about whether the journal or magazine is a scholarly journal, consumer magazine, etc.

Paper journals: Frequently include instruction for authors in the front or back of the journal. Some instructions will use the phrase "peer reviewed." Others will say that manuscripts are sent for blind review, reviewed by a committee, or anonymously reviewed.

Research Databases: Some allow you to limit your search to scholarly journals.