Start Here To Look for Articles on a Topic
We don't have a database that is purely public administration, so you'll need to choose your database by what aspect of public administration interests you. The following databases might be places to start.
- SummonTo locate scholarly articles in Summon, limit to Journal Articles and/or Scholarly/Peer-Review. Summon is also a great place to locate the full text of an article where you already have citation information. Searching for a known article using a title will usually return a link to the full text or the ability to request a PDF copy through Interlibrary Loan.
- JSTOROver a thousand full-text scholarly journals and books covering all subjects in the humanities, sciences and social sciences. In the advanced search menu you may want to consider the following discipline filters most relevant to Public Administration:
Public Policy & Administration
Health Policy
Political Science
Law - EBSCO DatabasesAccess to all of the EBSCO databases which the library subscribes to, including our most heavily-used database, Academic Search Complete. Browse a list of all EBSCO databases or use the link above to search them all at the same time. You can also connect to EBSCO then click on "Choose Databases" to link to specific EBSCO databases.
- Selected Public Administration Journal SearchAdd your search terms to the second box to search selected Public Administration Journals
- Business Source Complete, 1886 - presentThis is a good place to find articles, reports, etc. on management, human resources, etc.
- International Political Science Abstracts, 1951 - presentThis database indexes articles about political science worldwide.
A Few More Databases
Because public administration is interdisciplinary, there are many databases that might be useful. If none of the databases in this list look useful, try the Research Databases page for a list of about 250 databases we have available.
- Academic Search Complete, 1887 - presentIndexes articles and other resources about a wide variety of topics, including public policy, etc.
- NBER Working Papers, 1973 - presentFull text working papers published by the National Bureau of Economic Research. Topics include economic issues related to aging, asset pricing, children, corporate finance, developing countries, the development of the American economy, education, economic fluctuations and growth, health, industrial organization, international finance and macroeconomics, international trade and investment, labor studies, law, monetary issues, productivity, public economics, and technical issues.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowThe database formerly named LexisNexis Academic is now called Nexis Uni! Contains full-text newspapers, business information, and legal publications, including current news, company profiles, industry information, and federal and state laws and legislation. This is a great option for full text of some web published Atlantic Articles
- StatistaStatista is an online statistics portal providing access to data from market and opinion research institutions, as well as from business organizations and government institutions.
- ICPSR (Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research)A vast archive of social science data for research and instruction, containing thousands of digital files of social science research data in political science, sociology, economics, criminal justice, and more.
Can't Find It? Use ILL!
You can request items that we do not have access to at BGSU through ILL. It's free!
P.S. Try OhioLINK for books first--it's easier and you can keep the book for longer.
Current Newspaper Databases
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowThe database formerly named LexisNexis Academic is now called Nexis Uni! Contains full-text newspapers, business information, and legal publications, including current news, company profiles, industry information, and federal and state laws and legislation. This is a great option for full text of some web published Atlantic Articles
- ProQuest Global NewsstreamAn online newspaper resource that includes international, national and regional papers such as The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, USA Today, Washington Post, The Guardian, El Norte, Jerusalem Post, and South China Morning Post.
- Ethnic NewsWatchA database that searches the full text of newspapers, magazines and journals published by the ethnic, minority and native press of the United States.