Search Summon
Power search library resources and more!
Article Databases
- Academic Search Complete
A multi-disciplinary full-text database that includes scholarly journal articles on all subjects as well as magazines, books and book chapters, reports, conference proceedings, and more.
- African American Newspapers (1827-1998)The full text of hundreds of U.S. newspapers from more than 35 states dating from 1827 to 1998 and published by African Americans.
- African American Women Writers of the 19th CenturyThe full text of 52 books and pamphlets published by 19th-century black women writers.
- African Journal ArchiveFull-text issues from the backfiles of over 200 scholarly journals published in Africa.
- America: History & Life (EBSCO)Index to scholarly journal articles on the history and culture of the United States and Canada.
- Education Full Text (H.W. Wilson)Index to core English-language journals, books, and yearbooks in education, many of which are full text.
- ERIC (Education Resource Information Center)ERIC indexes education-related literature, beginning in 1966. It includes citations to research reports, journal articles, and books, many of which link to full text.
- Ethnic NewsWatchA database that searches the full text of newspapers, magazines and journals published by the ethnic, minority and native press of the United States.
- JSTOROver a thousand full-text scholarly journals and books covering all subjects in the humanities, sciences and social sciences. History, economics, art, literature, and mathematics are particularly strong. All journal titles are archived back to the first issue, many dating from the early 1800s.
- OhioLINK Electronic Journal Center (EJC)A full text searchable database of electronic journal articles from thousands of academic journals from top scholarly publishers, academic societies, and university presses. The EJC covers a wide range of disciplines and contains recently published scientific research as well as historical journal articles, with new articles added daily.
- Project MUSE - Standard CollectionAn interdisciplinary collection of hundreds of high quality, peer reviewed, scholarly journals in the humanities, arts, and social sciences. All titles in the Standard Collection are full text.
- PsycINFO 1887-CurrentThe premier index to journal articles and other scholarly publications in the field of psychology.
- Social Work AbstractsIndexing and abstracts for articles in social work and human services journals.
- SocINDEX with Full TextIndex to scholarly publications in sociology, covering topics such as criminal justice, marriage and family, social work, substance abuse, and violence.
- Web of ScienceIndex to articles in scholarly journals and conference proceedings from all fields of study, plus the ability to search these articles' bibliographies by cited author or work. Links to full text are included where possible.
Specialized Databases
- 20th Century African-American PoetryFull text of 12,000 20th century works by more than 100 African-American poets.
- African Journal ArchiveSearch and browse full text issues from 20 scholarly journals published in Africa, including journals in the subject areas of classics, biology, art, law, medicine, geology, and the humanities.
- African-American Poetry 1760-1900Full text of almost 3,000 poems written by African-American poets in the late 18th and 19th centuries.
- National Underground Railroad Freedom Center E-BooksThirteen texts in the OhioLINK EBC related to the study of slavery in American history, including reference works and digital versions of important historical titles.
Peer Reviewed or Scholarly FAQ
What are scholarly or peer reviewed articles?
Professors often require students to find scholarly and peer reviewed articles. These items:
- generally focus on scholarly research
- are written by experts in the field or discipline
- are critically reviewed by other experts before publication
- contain cited references to the information sources used
How do I find scholarly or peer reviewed articles?
Many of the library's databases contain scholarly or peer reviewed material and allow you to limit your search to include only these articles in the results. Use the advanced search feature in a database to find the option to limit to this type of search.
Click here for more information on scholarly, popular and trade publications.