Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Magazine Articles From the World War II Era
American Periodicals Series Online, 1741-1900, 1741 - 1940's
Searchable database of full text articles from a wide variety of American periodicals published between 1741 and the mid 1940's (despite the dates in the title). This a great place to find articles, illustrations, recipes, poems, ads, etc. published during the very end of the time period for this course. NOTE: This database is available to BGSU students, faculty, and staff and walk-in users.
Readers' Guide Retrospective, 1890-1982
Index to articles published in the popular press between 1890 and 1982 from over 375 magazines like Collier's, Harper's, The New Republic, Popular Science, and The Saturday Evening Post. Note that this is not a full text database. However, the libraries own most of the indexed magazines in print, microfiche, or microfilm.
Finding Articles at Google Books and Google News Archive
Google Books now has full text of some periodicals, including several from the World War II era. You can specify results from Magazines on the Advanced Search page.
A few examples of interesting articles from the World War II era are:
"The French Underground," Life (Aug. 24, 1942)
"Dutch Broadcasting Formula," Billboard (April 8, 1944)
"Tito's Partisans," Life (Dec. 6, 1943)
Google News Archive also has full text of some magazines and newspapers from the World War II era.
A few examples of relevant articles from the World War II era are:
"Angered by Resistance, Nazis Slaughter 61 in Italian Town," Milwaukee Journal
"German Students Revolt," Ottawa Citizen
Finding Articles from Historic Newspapers