BGSU continues to make critical decisions to slow the spread of the novel coronavirus in the best interests of our campus community based upon state and federal guidance. Jerome Library is closed, but staff are working remotely to assist you.
Publishers and library vendors are offering universities expanded free access to online content for the spring 2020 semester. We are adding these resources to our search tools like Summon. Selected resources are listed below. For a full list, see our Databases A-Z page.
The A&AePortal is an authoritative eBook resource that features important works of scholarship in the history of art, architecture, decorative arts, photography, and design. The site offers many out-of-print titles, and recent releases from academic and museum publishers available here exclusively. Available through June 21, 2020 for free from Bloomsbury to support online learning during the COVID-19 pandemic.
Over 170 books which combine visual inspiration with practical advice on idea generation, research techniques, portfolio development and more, across the main visual arts disciplines. The titles cover a range of skills and topics from basic concepts to careers and professional practice and include case studies, leading practitioner interviews, and activities. Available through May 31, 2020 for free from Bloomsbury to support online learning during the COVID-19 pandemic.
A collection of fully-searchable peer-reviewed texts and images to support architectural research, including the new edition of Sir Banister Fletcher’s Global History of Architecture produced in partnership with the Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA) and the University of London. Available through May 31, 2020 for free from Bloomsbury to support online learning during the COVID-19 pandemic.
Hundreds of scholarly ebooks spanning the arts, humanities and social sciences from publishers including Bloomsbury, T&T Clark, The Arden Shakespeare, Hart Publishing, and more. Available through May 31, 2020 for free from Bloomsbury to support online learning during the COVID-19 pandemic.
Search three important fashion resources: Bloomsbury Fashion Business Cases (real-life and fictional cases designed to get students thinking about ethical, strategic, and other business issues related to fashion design and merchandising), Fairchild Books Library (full-text fashion textbooks), and Fashion Photography Archive (images, articles, videos and more covering 40 years of fashion history). Available through May 31 for free from Bloomsbury Digital Resources to support online learning during the COVID-19 pandemic.
Over 600 ebooks offering lively, accessible introductions to major writers, artists, philosophers, topics, and periods. Available through May 31, 2020 for free from Cambridge to support online learning during the COVID-19 pandemic.
Combining the best features of books and journals, Cambridge Elements volumes contain original, concise, authoritative, and peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific research. The series is edited by leading scholars, and provide comprehensive coverage of the key topics in disciplines spanning the arts and sciences. Available through May 31, 2020 for free from Cambridge to support online learning during the COVID-19 pandemic.
Over 300 volumes, each detailing a specific subject. The collection encompasses a number of areas in the humanities and social sciences, with a concentration on political and cultural history, literature, philosophy, religious studies, music and the arts. Available through May 31, 2020 for free from Cambridge to support online learning during the COVID-19 pandemic.
Scholarly works and practical guides on playwrights and plays for reference and performance. Includes 1200 plays, production photos, and some video, including 21 filmed theatrical performances from Shakespeare's Globe on Screen, four early modern drama performances from Stage on Screen, Maxine Peake's Hamlet, and a six-hour acting masterclass with renowned Shakespeare acting coach, Patsy Rodenburg. Available through May 31, 2020 for free from Bloomsbury to support online learning during the COVID-19 pandemic.
Highlights of the collection include:
Robin Soans’ verbatim drama The Arab-Israeli Cookbook
Germaine Greer’s version of Lysistrata - the sex strike
Manjula Padmanabhan’s Onassis award-winning play Harvest
The Hollow Crown Series 1 & 2
BBC Drama Films
L.A. Theatre Works
The Nick Hern Books Collection
Shakespeare’s Globe on Screen film Collection
Shakespeare and Early Modern Video Collection
Presents powerful physical and vocal warm-ups for actors of all levels
Detailed encyclopaedic information
Overviews of major concepts, topics and issues
Surveys of theatre institutions, countries, genres and movements
Biographical entries on key performers, playwrights, directors, designers, choreographers and composers
Synopses of significant plays
Critical works on major playwrights
Original works from theatre practitioners
Core craft skills: acting, design, directing, lighting etc.
eBook Academic Collection provides access to a large selection of nearly 120,000 multidisciplinary ebook titles representing a broad range of academic subject matter including titles from leading university presses such as Oxford University Press, State University of New York Press, Cambridge University Press, University of California Press, MIT Press, Harvard University Press and many others. Additional academic publishers include Elsevier Ltd.; Brill Academic Publishers; Taylor & Francis Ltd; Sage Publications, Ltd. and John Wiley & Sons, Inc. Available through June 30th for free from EBSCO to support online learning during the COVID-19 pandemic.
HeinOnline Academic features more than 100 million pages of content and covers more than 100 subject areas, providing access to 300+ years of information on political development and the complete history of the creation of government and legal systems around the world. The package also includes Fastcase, a next-generation legal research service which provides subscribers access to a wide array of case law at the federal and state levels and enables users to access the full text of cases through their HeinOnline subscription without having to access multiple separate research databases. Trial to this full HeinOnline Academic package will be available through December 15, 2020.
The IEEE eLearning Library offers high-quality, peer-reviewed online courses in topics relating to science and technology. Researchers can also use the IEEE eLearning Library to stay abreast of the latest developments in related technologies. These courses have been developed by recognized experts in a wide range of engineering and research technologies. Available through May 30, 2020 for free from IEEE to support online learning during the COVID-19 pandemic.
JoVE is a unique scholarly video resource for the sciences, providing visual demonstrations in a number of subjects. BGSU access includes JoVE Core (a video textbook for core concepts in Biology and Social Psychology), JoVE Science Education (a collection of simple, easy-to-understand video demonstrations in eight STEM fields) and Lab Manual (videos for introductory biology lab courses). Available through June 15, 2020 for free from JoVE to support online learning during the COVID-19 pandemic.
JSTOR and participating publishers are making an expanded set of content freely available to participating institutions where students have been displaced due to COVID-19. Expanded content includes 26 journal archives in Public Health, all Archive and Primary Source collections, and over 20,000 books. This content is accessible to BGSU users alongside our normal JSTOR journal and ebook content. Further details can be found at https://about.jstor.org/covid19/ Available through June 30 for free from JSTOR to support online learning during the COVID-19 pandemic.
Full-text scholarly journals and books covering all subjects in the humanities, sciences and social sciences. History, economics, art, literature, and mathematics are particularly strong. All journal titles are archived back to the first issue, many dating from the early 1800s.
The complete collection of MIT Press ebooks, with over 2,500 titles. Key subject areas covered include art and architecture, biomedical sciences, business and finance, computer science, design, neuroscience, new media, philosophy, and more. Available through May 31, 2020 for free from MIT Press to support online learning during the COVID-19 pandemic.
a collection of books that supports emergency remote teaching, research activities, independent scholarship, and intellectual stimulation while universities, schools, training centers, and libraries are closed.
Numerique Premium offers a range of French-language ebooks in the humanities, social studies, legal studies, and political sciences. Available through April 23,2020 for free from Numerique to support online learning during the COVID-19 pandemic.
All scholarly monographs and the Language Files linguistics textbook will be open and free to use through the OSU Libraries Knowledge Bank. Available through the end of summer for free from The Ohio State University Press to support online learning during the COVID-19 pandemic.
Over a thousand ebooks offering up to date, high-level research on hundreds of topics. Essays in each handbook review the key issues and cutting-edge debates, as well as providing arguments for how those debates might evolve. Available through May 17, 2020 as a free trial from Oxford to support online learning during the COVID-19 pandemic.
Peer-reviewed titles in theoretical and applied mathematics and statistics hosted by Project Euclid (a division of Duke University Press). Includes 371 full-text ebooks. Available through Jun 23rd for free from Project Euclid (Duke) to support online learning during the COVID-19 pandemic.
An interdisciplinary collection of high quality, scholarly (peer reviewed) journals in the humanities, arts, and social sciences and scholarly books from university press publishers. Updates to the list of publishers offering free access to content can be found at https://about.muse.jhu.edu/resources/freeresourcescovid19/. Content that is freely available on the Project MUSE platform during the COVID-19 crisis will be accessible alongside BGSU's normally subscribed content and display a distinctive “Free” icon. Available up through June 30 for free from Project MUSE to support online learning during the COVID-19 pandemic.
Ebooks are from publishers such as Johns Hopkins University Press, Ohio State University Press, University of Nebraska Press, University of North Carolina Press, Temple University Press, and Vanderbilt University Press.
The R2 Digital Library offers access to over 5,000 fully integrated and searchable medical, nursing and allied health source books from key health science publishers. Available through May 20, 2020 for free from Rittenhouse to support online learning during the COVID-19 pandemic.
R2 Digital Library incorporates a workspace that allows users to bookmark and save content such as searches, references, course links and images.
The University of Michigan Press Ebook Collection (UMP EBC) contains the Press's scholarly output published since 2012 as well as new books and older titles as they are digitized. Included in the Collection are over 200 titles used in student courses and almost 300 award-winners. Strengths include political science and public (including health) policy, performing arts, classical and medieval studies, American studies, and Area studies (especially East Asian, African, and German studies). Available through April 30 for free from the University of Michigan Press to support online learning during the COVID-19 pandemic.
Available through May 25, 2020. Growing list of publishers offering e-texts through Vital Source's Bookshelf. Students log in to the VitalSource Bookshelf app using their school email address and can then view course materials from participating publishers via VitalSource’s Explore capabilities within Bookshelf.
Publishers include Oxford University Press, Cambridge University Press, McGraw-Hill Higher Education, Pearson Education, Routledge Publishers, Sage Publishing, University of Chicago Press, Wiley Global Education, Yale Publishing, and many more.
Access through May 25th. Will provide students with up to 7 free eBooks from participating publishers. Students can read full books online with limited offline reading/printing options. Requires students to create an account using their BGSU email.
As courses transition to online, we can provide complimentary electronic “reserve” copies of our textbooks for students who do not have access to our print books. Please contact us through the “request desk copy” link on the specific textbook page.
Cengage is providing full access to Cengage Unlimited online platforms and online textbooks via a Cengage Unlimited subscription through the end of the semester. Textbooks also available through VitalSource. Trainings on teaching online are available for faculty.
The 256 textbooks currently on ScienceDirect will be automatically entitled to all active ScienceDirect customers (including those journals customers who do not currently have books) for a period of 90 days. Users accessing ScienceDirect through IP or remote access will be able to use these books while campuses are closed.
A full list of books is available at https://www.elsevier.com/solutions/sciencedirect/content/book-title-lists