LibGuides: HIST 3255: Early National U.S. 1789-1848: Articles

Magazine Articles

American Antiquarian Society Periodicals
Full-text collections of thousands of historical American periodicals, provided by the American Antiquarian Society and published between 1691 and 1912. The collection is fully searchable via a number of filters, and offers multiple navigation options.
American Periodicals Series Online
The full text of hundreds of American magazines, journals, and newspapers published between 1741 and 1900.
Coverage: 1741-1900
Godey's Lady's Book
This collection provides access to the complete run of Godeys Lady's Book, a magazine intended to entertain, inform and educate the women of America, from 1830 to 1898.

Making of America (Cornell University)
Collection of digitized periodicals from the 19th century.

Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture & Law
A database containing a wide range of primary materials on the subject of slavery worldwide, including judicial cases, slavery statutes, UNC Press titles, periodicals, and scholarly articles. It includes every statute passed by every U.S. colony and state on slavery, every federal statute dealing with slavery, and all reported state and federal cases on slavery.
Coverage: 15th-19th centuries

Newspapers in the Center for Archival Collections

The Center for Archival Collections has copies of some early Ohio newspapers. For more information see their guide to newspaper holdings, linked below.

Ohio Newspaper Microfilm
This guide lists newspaper microfilm holdings in BGSU's Center for Archival Collections

Databases with Full Text Historical Newspapers

These databases are available only to students, faculty and staff of Bowling Green State University and walk-in users.

Accessible Archives Complete
Full text primary sources from 18th and 19th century America, mainly newspapers, including the Pennsylvania Gazette, the Virginia Gazette, Godey's Lady's Book, Frederick Douglass Paper, a collection of South Carolina Newspapers, and a collection of African American newspapers.
NewspaperArchive.com
Searchable full text for hundreds of historical newspapers published in Ohio between 1800-2010. Search or browse 19th and 20th century Ohio newspapers and view full-page pdf images.
Coverage: 1800-2010
African American Newspapers (1827-1998)
The full text of hundreds of U.S. newspapers from more than 35 states dating from 1827 to 1998 and published by African Americans.
Coverage: 1827-1898
Detroit Free Press (1831-1922)
Full text for several newspaper titles published in Detroit between 1831 and 1922.

Newspapers -- Free & Full Text on the Internet

There are hundreds of free, full text U.S. newspapers available on the Internet that were published before 1849. To find a list, organized by state and place, see: