Skip to main content
BGSU University Libraries

French & Francophone Studies: Academic Year Abroad

A resource guide for faculty and students in the French Section of the Department of Romance & Classical Studies at BGSU.

Using Library Resources around the World

Even if you are not on the BGSU campus, you are able to take advantage of the Libraries' resources and services as a BGSU student or faculty member.

To use electronic resources when you are away from campus, you simply use your BGSU username and password for remote access and for access to your library account (the same username and password used to check your BGSU email).

The Libraries has an incredible number of e-journals and increasing access to e-books. Check out the materials listed in the Books and Articles tabs for suggested resources.

If you experience problems accessing materials electronically, click on the ASK US! tab to explore the variety of ways you can get help.

 
 

Literature Databases

This will search several EBSCO Literature Databases at once: Academic Search Complete; Humanities International Complete; Literary Reference Center; MLA Directory of Periodicals; and MLA International Bibliography.

 

Electronic Delivery of Print Articles

The University Libraries is piloting a new service for Faculty and Distance Education students. As AYA students, you are clearly distance students! Basically, if BGSU owns a journal in print, you can request an article from that journal via Interlibrary Loan and have it delivered electronically to your desktop, no matter where you are.

Requesting an Electronic Copy of an Article Only Available in Print:

  • If you identify an article that is not available in full text, enter the citation via interlibrary loan using Interlibrary Loan (ILL). If BGSU owns the print copy, and you're faculty or a distance education patron, you will receive a copy of the article electronically. Items not owned by BGSU will be requested via the regular interlibrary loan process.
  • Distance students should add text in the note field of each request in Interlibrary Loan (ILL) that they are a "distance education student."


Turn Around Times For Interlibrary Loan (ILL) Requests

  • Articles From BGSU: 1 Business Day
  • Articles From Other Institutions: Approximately 2 Weeks.

For more information, contact ill@bgsu.edu

E-Books

Search these e-book collections for possible sources, especially if you're away from campus! If you are using them off-campus, you may need to authenticate with your BGSU username and password.

Here are a couple of the Libraries' e-book databases.  To access even more, visit the Libraries E-Book Collections.

Problems with your Library Account?

If you are not able to log onto a library database or use a resource and instead receive a message asking you to update your library account, please contact the library circulation desk. Email them at circdesk@bgsu.edu. 

Online Dictionaries

WordReference
A free online dictionary with around 100,000 words and phrases with over 200,000 translations. A subset of the Oxford dictionaries.

The Oxford Concise French-English/English-French Dictionary
Authoritative coverage of over 170,000 words and phrases, and over 240,000 translations.  You will need to authenticate with your BGSU username and password to access this resource.

Hot Tip

Follow the "Find It!" link or button on an article in the research databases to locate online or print articles in other databases!

If an article isn't available full text in one database, it may be full text in another. Following Find It! will save you much time and frustration.

The Find It! button looks like this:  find it button OR OhioLINK find it button.

MLA Handout

This MLA guide gives examples of the most common MLA citations.