Useful Government Documents on the Internet
- American Archives: Documents of the American Revolution 1774-1776Digitized documents from: American archives: consisting of a collection of authentick records, state papers, debates, and letters and other notices of publick affairs, the whole forming a documentary history of the origin and progress of the North American colonies; of the causes...
- Elliot's Debates 1787-1789 (Library of Congress)"Debates in the Several State Conventions on the Adoption of the Federal Constitution"
- Farrand's Records 1787 (Library of Congress)"The Records of the Federal Convention of 1787"
- Indian Affairs: Laws and Treaties (Kappler's)"...Compiled and edited by Charles J. Kappler, is an historically significant, seven volume compilation of U.S. treaties, laws and executive orders pertaining to Native American Indian tribes. The volumes cover U.S. Government treaties with Native Americans from 1778-1883 (Volume II) and U.S. laws and executive orders concerning Native Americans from 1871-1970 (Volumes I, III-VII)."
U.S. Colonial Laws
Looking for laws of the original thirteen colonies? See the LibGuide on U.S. Colonial Laws for links to both paper and online resources:
Other Useful Databases & Internet Sites
- Catalog of U.S. Government Publications, 1976 to presentDescriptions of publications issued by the legislative, executive, and judicial branches of the U.S. government and links to those that are available online.
- OhioLINK Central CatalogIf BGSU doesn't own documents on your topic, try the OhioLINK Central Catalog. It contains the holdings of the libraries at more than 80 colleges and universities throughout Ohio, many of which have government documents collections.
- Monthly Catalog of U.S. Government PublicationsCommonly referred to as the Monthly Catalog or MoCat, this publication lists all of the publications produced by the U.S. Government Printing Office from 1895 to 2004. Initially intended to supplement the Documents Catalog, the Monthly Catalog served as the “comprehensive index” provided for in the Printing Act of 1895 after the Documents Catalog was discontinued in 1947. The Monthly Catalog was discontinued with the December 2004 edition, after which point the continuously updated Catalog of U.S. Government Publications (CGP) served that purpose.
Useful Print Indexes
Cumulative Subject Index to the Monthly Catalog of U. S. Government Publications, 1900 to 1971, 14 by Call Number: GOV DOCS REF Z1223.A1973x volumes 1-15ISBN: 9780840800015Publication Date: 1975-01-01
Cumulative Title Index to United States Public Documents, 1789-1976 by Call Number: GOV DOCS REF Z1223.Z7 L47 J83 v.1-16ISBN: 0882220349Publication Date: 1978-03-01
Useful Print Government Documents
- A Decent Respect to the Opinions of MankindCall Number: GOV DOCS LC 1.2:Op 3ISBN: 084440165XPublication Date: 1975-01-01
- Emerging nation : a documentary history of the foreign relations of the United States under the Articles of Confederation, 1780-1789Call Number: GOV DOCS AE1.114/3:N21/ v.1-3
- English defenders of American freedoms, 1774-1778: six pamphlets attacking British policy byCall Number: GOV DOCS LC 1.2:En 3/1774-78
- Formation of the union: A documentary history based upon an exhibit in the National Archives buildingCall Number: GOV DOCS GS4.2:Un3/2Publication Date: 1970
- A historical review of the principle of citizen compulsion in the raising of armiesCall Number: GOV DOCS Y 3.SE 4:17/1/1Publication Date: 1947See the Appendices for copies of laws regarding compulsory military service
- John Paul Jones' Memoir of the American Revolution Presented to King Louis XVI of France byCall Number: GOV DOCS LC 1.2:J 71ISBN: 0844402648Publication Date: 1979-01-01
- John Paul Jones : commemoration at Annapolis, April 24, 1906Call Number: GOV DOCS D 207.10/2:J 71
- Journals of the American Congress from 1774-1788Call Number: GOV DOCS Z 2.7:v.1-4
- Journals of the Continental Congress, 1774-1789Call Number: GOV DOCS Z 2.5:
- Letters of delegates to Congress, 1774-1789Call Number: GOV DOCS LC 1.34:
- Military obligation : the American tradition ; a compilation of the enactments of compulsion from the earliest settlements of the original thirteen colonies in 1607 through the Articles of Confederation 1789Call Number: GOV DOCS Y 3.SE 4:17/1/2/v.1-14Publication Date: 1947
- Naval documents of the American RevolutionCall Number: GOV DOCS D 207.12:
- Treaties and other international agreements of the United States of America, 1776-1949 byCall Number: GOV DOCS S 9.12/2:
Documents Collections
The BGSU Libraries house collections of United States, Ohio, and Bowling Green government documents. For more information, see: