It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
History: Book Reviews
Resources useful for researching history topics at Bowling Green State University
Books are usually reviewed when they are first published. Rarely a book will be reviewed when it is reprinted. Look for reviews in the year in which the book is published, as well as the year before and the year after.
Don't forget that history is interdisciplinary. If you're trying to find a review for a book on the history of education, you should also look in databases and print resources that index articles on education.
Some print sources may index book reviews under the author or title of the book or in a separate section labeled "Book Reviews."
Finding Book Reviews in Summon
Summon is a great place to find book reviews. You can search for the title of the book (it helps to put quotation marks around the title). Summon makes it easy to limit by scholarly journals or publication year. Best of all, in the lefthand column, you can limit to Book Reviews under Content Type.
This resource provides dscriptive summaries and full-text reviews of adult and children's books published since 1905, and includes citations to, and excerpts from, published book reviews.
Please note that, due to budget and collection considerations, we have discontinued our subscription to Book Review Digest Plus as of June 30, 2020, so this database will not be updated. Access to the Retrospective continues. Please contact Linda Brown, Collections Coordinator, with questions.
Over a thousand full-text scholarly journals and books covering all subjects in the humanities, sciences and social sciences. History, economics, art, literature, and mathematics are particularly strong. All journal titles are archived back to the first issue, many dating from the early 1800s.