It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Resources useful for researching history topics at Bowling Green State University
Over a thousand full-text scholarly journals and books covering all subjects in the humanities, sciences and social sciences. History, economics, art, literature, and mathematics are particularly strong. All journal titles are archived back to the first issue, many dating from the early 1800s.
JSTOR has produced this LibGuide with information about how to use JSTOR.
Summon is a new service that allows you to quickly search, discover and access reliable and credible library content in digital and print formats, audio and video, single articles and entire e-journals, and every format in between. Enter your terms in one search box, and quickly get credible results in one relevancy-ranked list.
Full text primary sources from 18th and 19th century America, mainly newspapers, including the Pennsylvania Gazette, the Virginia Gazette, Godey's Lady's Book, Frederick Douglass Paper, a collection of South Carolina Newspapers, and a collection of African American newspapers.
A guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750. This database covers subjects such as European exploration, portrayals of Native Americas, and natural disasters, disease, and slavery during this period.
A database containing a wide range of primary materials on the subject of slavery worldwide, including judicial cases, slavery statutes, UNC Press titles, periodicals, and scholarly articles. It includes every statute passed by every U.S. colony and state on slavery, every federal statute dealing with slavery, and all reported state and federal cases on slavery.
A complete, searchable archive of American Vogue, from the first issue in 1892 to the current month. Includes every article, cover, photo shoot, illustration and advertisement, with rich indexing enabling users to find images by designer and brand names.
Index to articles in scholarly journals from all fields of study, plus the ability to search these articles' bibliographies by cited author or work. Conference proceedings are also included.
For Windows XP users of Internet Explorer 8: Please download the KB2416400 patch if you receive the error: HTML Parsing Error: Unable to modify the parent container element before the child element is closed (KB927917). (1/13/14) Alternate Access Link