LibGuides: HIST 6800: Problems in 19th Century US History.: Finding Secondary Sources

Scholarly Articles and Dissertations

Just like with books, there are several ways to find and access scholarly articles and dissertations. However, your best place to start is in Summon.

Summon
Search the BGSU library catalog alongside the vast majority of our journal content at one time using Summon. Find and link to full text articles in scholarly journals and newspapers, ebooks, and images.

Although Summon is a great place to start, there are other database options - especially for history specific research.

JSTOR
Over a thousand full-text scholarly journals and books covering all subjects in the humanities, sciences and social sciences. History, economics, art, literature, and mathematics are particularly strong. All journal titles are archived back to the first issue, many dating from the early 1800s. JSTOR now also hosts the complete ArtSTOR collection.

Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete is a multidisciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,600 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,500 peer-reviewed journals.
more...less...
In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.

Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America
An index covering all aspects of culture, history, and life of Indigenous peoples in North America.
Dissertations & Theses (ProQuest)
Index to more than 2 million doctoral dissertations and master's theses written from 1861 to the present for universities all over the world, with full text access to most.
Historical Abstracts (EBSCO)
Index to scholarly journal articles from international historical journals, covering the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present.
Humanities International Complete
Index to scholarly articles covering topics such as history, music, literature, philosophy and religion.
Project MUSE - Standard Collection
An interdisciplinary collection of hundreds of high quality, peer reviewed, scholarly journals in the humanities, arts, and social sciences. All titles in the Standard Collection are full text.