LibGuides: 20th Century American History With Teaching Resources: Teaching Resources

Teaching Resources at BGSU

BGSU Univerity Libraries offers students not only databases for academic research in education, but practical help as well. From puppets to picture books, the Curriculum Resources Center has much of what you need to make your time in the classroom successful.

Library Databases to use in the classroom:

Explora Educator's Edition
Created for K-12 teachers, this database includes lesson plans, support materials and professional development resources.
Explora Primary Schools
Designed for younger researchers, this EBSCO database searches popular full text magazines for elementary school research using a graphic interface, and features an online encyclopedia which can be browsed by topic.
Explora Secondary Schools
A graphical search interface designed specifically for elementary/middle school students according to their needs and search abilities, providing access to articles and facts suitable for research papers, class projects, or homework, from a selected range of magazines and reference books.
Primary Search
Designed specifically for elementary school students, this database contains full text magazines and pamphlets.

Resources for Teaching with Primary Sources

American Historical Association
Loads of great classroom materials, as well as professional development and research.
Farming for the Future: Storytelling through Maps
Farming for the Future is a great example of how maps can be used in history education through storytelling.
Kid Citizen
KidCitizen is an interactive game that uses Library of Congress primary sources. It includes pre-made games around specific primary sources and subjects, or you can use the KidCitizen editor to create your own game and your own avatar.
Ohio History Connection
A great source for all things Ohio history. Offers ideas on how to use local history collection and digital primary sources in the classroom.
Primary Documents in American History
A list of primary source research guides to help find and contextualize primary sources from American History that are housed at the Library of Congress.
Smithsonian's History Explorer
Offers a wind array of resources specific to teaching American history. Does not focus only on primary sources.
Teaching with Primary Sources (TPS) Consortium
The TPS Consortium is comprised of more than 200 partner organizations in all 50 states and DC that share ideas, information, materials, and collaborate on the design and delivery of projects that focus on Library of Congress primary sources.
Teaching with Primary Sources (TPS) Teachers' Network:
FREE site for librarians, educators, and researchers who want to incorporate primary sources into their programming and classes. Find primary sources and ways to use them with your patrons. *The TPS Teachers' Network requires registration but is absolutely free.

20th Century American History With Teaching Resources

Professional Development Resources for Teachers

Tools for getting started

Teaching Resources at BGSU

Resources for Teaching with Primary Sources