Skip to main content

BGSU continues to make critical decisions to slow the spread of the novel coronavirus in the best interests of our campus community based upon state and federal guidance. Jerome Library is closed, but staff are working remotely to assist you.

A-Z Databases

Find the best library databases for your research.

Loading...

New / Trial Databases

Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
  • Images
  • Full Text
  • Resource available for a limited time
  • Free resource available during COVID-19 pandemic
New Trial
The A&AePortal is an authoritative eBook resource that features important works of scholarship in the history of art, architecture, decorative arts, photography, and design. The site offers many out-of-print titles, and recent releases from academic and museum publishers available here exclusively.
Available through June 21, 2020 for free from Bloomsbury to support online learning during the COVID-19 pandemic.
  • Find Scholarly Articles
  • Videos
  • Full Text
  • Resource available for a limited time
  • Free resource available during COVID-19 pandemic
New Trial
Academic Search Ultimate offers students an unprecedented collection of peer-reviewed, full-text journals, including many journals indexed in leading citation indexes. It also includes more than 77,000 videos from the Associated Press, which appear in a carousel in the result list. Updated monthly, this collection of videos from the world’s leading news agency includes footage from 1930 to the present.
Available through June 30th for free from EBSCO to support online learning during the COVID-19 pandemic.
New
Guide from the American Chemical Society to scholarly communication in the sciences, including citation style, editorial style, data communication, guide to submitting research for publication, and more. This resource aims to provide students, researchers, and educators with the instruction and advice they need to master the art of scholarly communication, with a focus on STEM disciplines. Not all sections of the Guide are completely populated as of 1/1/20; more content is forthcoming.
Trial
The 11th edition of the American Medical Association Manual of Style, written by the editorial staff of JAMA, provides information about how to format references and publications in the health sciences. Trial through 3/26/20.
  • Images
  • Full Text
  • Resource available for a limited time
  • Free resource available during COVID-19 pandemic
New Trial
The digitized holdings of the Arcadian Library, containing Middle Eastern and European texts from across a millennium, presented within a thematic framework. Full-page color images are displayed in high resolution and include bindings, clasps and page edges. Choose between an English or Arabic interface and search in either language. Available through May 31, 2020 for free from Bloomsbury to support online learning during the COVID-19 pandemic.
  • Find Scholarly Articles
  • Full Text
  • Resource available for a limited time
  • Free resource available during COVID-19 pandemic
New Trial
Berghahn Journals is the journals division of Berghahn Books, an award-winning independent publisher of scholarly books and journals in the humanities and social sciences.
Available through Jun 23rd for free from Berghahn to support online learning during the COVID-19 pandemic.
  • Full Text
  • Resource available for a limited time
  • Free resource available during COVID-19 pandemic
New Trial
Over 170 books which combine visual inspiration with practical advice on idea generation, research techniques, portfolio development and more, across the main visual arts disciplines. The titles cover a range of skills and topics from basic concepts to careers and professional practice and include case studies, leading practitioner interviews, and activities. Available through May 31, 2020 for free from Bloomsbury to support online learning during the COVID-19 pandemic.
  • Find Scholarly Articles
  • Images
  • Full Text
  • Resource available for a limited time
  • Free resource available during COVID-19 pandemic
New Trial
A collection of fully-searchable peer-reviewed texts and images to support architectural research, including the new edition of Sir Banister Fletcher’s Global History of Architecture produced in partnership with the Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA) and the University of London. Available through May 31, 2020 for free from Bloomsbury to support online learning during the COVID-19 pandemic.
  • Full Text
  • Resource available for a limited time
  • Free resource available during COVID-19 pandemic
New Trial
Hundreds of scholarly ebooks spanning the arts, humanities and social sciences from publishers including Bloomsbury, T&T Clark, The Arden Shakespeare, Hart Publishing, and more. Available through May 31, 2020 for free from Bloomsbury to support online learning during the COVID-19 pandemic.
  • Full Text
  • Resource available for a limited time
  • Free resource available during COVID-19 pandemic
New Trial
A series that provides thematic overviews of historical periods and topics alongside relevant e-books, images from the Wellcome Collection, and features like lesson plans and an interactive timeline. Available through May 31, 2020 for free from Bloomsbury to support online learning during the COVID-19 pandemic.
  • Images
  • Full Text
  • Resource available for a limited time
  • Free resource available during COVID-19 pandemic
New Trial
Bloomsbury Design Library provides scholarly coverage of design and crafts worldwide, from 1500 BCE to the present day, including reference and book content alongside a rich selection of museum object images. Available through May 31, 2020 for free from Bloomsbury to support online learning during the COVID-19 pandemic.
  • Full Text
  • Resource available for a limited time
  • Free resource available during COVID-19 pandemic
New Trial
Study and compare countries worldwide through six key education levels: early childhood education, childhood, youth, primary education, secondary education, and higher education. Combined with ebooks, articles, and research tools, students can study and build an understanding of education systems, policies, and the nature of childhood and youth experience in different countries throughout the world. Available through May 31, 2020 for free from Bloomsbury to support online learning during the COVID-19 pandemic.
  • Find Scholarly Articles
  • Full Text
  • Resource available for a limited time
  • Free resource available during COVID-19 pandemic
New Trial
Critical biographies of over 8,000 thinkers from North America, Britain, Ireland, France, Germany, the Netherlands, and the Middle East. Available through May 31, 2020 for free from Bloomsbury to support online learning during the COVID-19 pandemic.
  • Images
  • Full Text
  • Resource available for a limited time
  • Free resource available during COVID-19 pandemic
New
Search three important fashion resources: Bloomsbury Fashion Business Cases (real-life and fictional cases designed to get students thinking about ethical, strategic, and other business issues related to fashion design and merchandising), Fairchild Books Library (full-text fashion textbooks), and Fashion Photography Archive (images, articles, videos and more covering 40 years of fashion history). Available through May 31 for free from Bloomsbury Digital Resources to support online learning during the COVID-19 pandemic.
  • Full Text
  • Resource available for a limited time
  • Free resource available during COVID-19 pandemic
New Trial
Bloomsbury Food Library is a digital resource with a wide range of food studies content reflecting the interdisciplinary nature of this growing subject. Available through May 31, 2020 for free from Bloomsbury to support online learning during the COVID-19 pandemic.
  • Images
  • Resource available for a limited time
  • Free resource available during COVID-19 pandemic
New Trial
Bloomsbury Medieval Studies offers a range of primary and secondary sources including more than 150 eBooks of scholarly monographs, companions and primary texts, an encyclopedia of the global Middle Ages,incunabula and illuminated manuscripts of Senate House Library, and a collection of 12th-15th century maps.

Available through May 31st for free from Bloomsbury to support online learning during the COVID-19 pandemic.
  • Find Scholarly Articles
  • Full Text
  • Resource available for a limited time
  • Free resource available during COVID-19 pandemic
New Trial
Digital library for global popular music that includes the reference work, Bloomsbury Encyclopedia of Popular Music of the World, volumes of the widely acclaimed "33 1/3" and "33 1/3 Global" book series (which analyzes influential albums), scholarly books, an illustrated Timeline of Popular Music, an interactive world map, and artist pages with biographical information and related content. Available through May 31, 2020 for free from Bloomsbury to support online learning during the COVID-19 pandemic.
  • Find Scholarly Articles
  • Full Text
  • Resource available for a limited time
  • Free resource available during COVID-19 pandemic
New Trial
Business Source Ultimate offers a range of peer-reviewed, full-text journals and other resources that provide historical information and current trends in business that spark discussion on future developments and changes in the business world.
Available through June 30th for free from EBSCO to support online learning during the COVID-19 pandemic.
  • Find Scholarly Articles
  • Full Text
  • Resource available for a limited time
  • Free resource available during COVID-19 pandemic
New
Over 600 ebooks offering lively, accessible introductions to major writers, artists, philosophers, topics, and periods. Available through May 31, 2020 for free from Cambridge to support online learning during the COVID-19 pandemic.
  • Find Scholarly Articles
  • Full Text
  • Resource available for a limited time
  • Free resource available during COVID-19 pandemic
New
Combining the best features of books and journals, Cambridge Elements volumes contain original, concise, authoritative, and peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific research. The series is edited by leading scholars, and provide comprehensive coverage of the key topics in disciplines spanning the arts and sciences. Available through May 31, 2020 for free from Cambridge to support online learning during the COVID-19 pandemic.
  • Find Scholarly Articles
  • Full Text
  • Resource available for a limited time
  • Free resource available during COVID-19 pandemic
New
Over 300 volumes, each detailing a specific subject. The collection encompasses a number of areas in the humanities and social sciences, with a concentration on political and cultural history, literature, philosophy, religious studies, music and the arts. Available through May 31, 2020 for free from Cambridge to support online learning during the COVID-19 pandemic.
  • Full Text
  • Resource available for a limited time
  • Free resource available during COVID-19 pandemic
New Trial
The digitized archive of British statesman Winston Churchill, including more than 800,000 pages of original documents produced between 1874 and 1965. These range from Churchill’s personal correspondence to his official exchanges with kings, presidents, politicians, and military leaders. Available through May 31, 2020 for free from Bloomsbury to support online learning during the COVID-19 pandemic.
Docuseek
  • Videos
  • Resource available for a limited time
  • Free resource available during COVID-19 pandemic
New Trial
A selection of titles from Bullfrog Films and Icarus Films. Available through June 30, 2020 for free from Docuseek to support online learning during the COVID-19 pandemic. Included titles are:
El lugar más pequeño / The Tiniest Place
Buyer Be Fair
We Feed the World
Big River
Better This World
Chavez Ravine: A Los Angeles Story
Elisabeth Kübler-Ross: Facing Death
Chats perchés / The Case of the Grinning Cat
  • Videos
  • Images
  • Full Text
  • Resource available for a limited time
  • Free resource available during COVID-19 pandemic
New Trial
Scholarly works and practical guides on playwrights and plays for reference and performance. Includes 1200 plays, production photos, and some video, including 21 filmed theatrical performances from Shakespeare's Globe on Screen, four early modern drama performances from Stage on Screen, Maxine Peake's Hamlet, and a six-hour acting masterclass with renowned Shakespeare acting coach, Patsy Rodenburg. Available through May 31, 2020 for free from Bloomsbury to support online learning during the COVID-19 pandemic.
  • Find Scholarly Articles
  • Full Text
  • Resource available for a limited time
  • Free resource available during COVID-19 pandemic
New Trial
eBook Academic Collection provides access to a large selection of nearly 120,000 multidisciplinary ebook titles representing a broad range of academic subject matter including titles from leading university presses such as Oxford University Press, State University of New York Press, Cambridge University Press, University of California Press, MIT Press, Harvard University Press and many others. Additional academic publishers include Elsevier Ltd.; Brill Academic Publishers; Taylor & Francis Ltd; Sage Publications, Ltd. and John Wiley & Sons, Inc. Available through June 30th for free from EBSCO to support online learning during the COVID-19 pandemic.
  • Full Text
New Trial
HeinOnline Academic features more than 100 million pages of content and covers more than 100 subject areas, providing access to 300+ years of information on political development and the complete history of the creation of government and legal systems around the world. The package also includes Fastcase, a next-generation legal research service which provides subscribers access to a wide array of case law at the federal and state levels and enables users to access the full text of cases through their HeinOnline subscription without having to access multiple separate research databases. Trial to this full HeinOnline Academic package will be available through December 15, 2020.
  • Full Text
  • Resource available for a limited time
  • Free resource available during COVID-19 pandemic
New Trial
Vocational journals that support employability and career development, specializing in journals which combine contributions from senior practitioners and respected consultancies with applied research from leading academics in the field. Available through May 26, 2020 for free from Henry Stewart to support online learning during the COVID-19 pandemic.
  • Find Scholarly Articles
  • Full Text
  • Resource available for a limited time
  • Free resource available during COVID-19 pandemic
New Trial
Human Kinetics Library is dedicated to the research, teaching, and understanding of kinesiology, sport, and exercise science. This platform features more than 150 eBooks, alongside ancillary materials, giving students and researchers a well-rounded overview and understanding of physical activity, health, and exercise science. Available through May 31st for free from Bloomsbury to support online learning during the COVID-19 pandemic.
  • Full Text
  • Resource available for a limited time
  • Free resource available during COVID-19 pandemic
New Trial
The IEEE eLearning Library offers high-quality, peer-reviewed online courses in topics relating to science and technology. Researchers can also use the IEEE eLearning Library to stay abreast of the latest developments in related technologies. These courses have been developed by recognized experts in a wide range of engineering and research technologies. Available through May 30, 2020 for free from IEEE to support online learning during the COVID-19 pandemic.
  • Find Scholarly Articles
  • Videos
  • Resource available for a limited time
  • Free resource available during COVID-19 pandemic
New Trial
JoVE is a unique scholarly video resource for the sciences, providing visual demonstrations in a number of subjects. BGSU access includes JoVE Core (a video textbook for core concepts in Biology and Social Psychology), JoVE Science Education (a collection of simple, easy-to-understand video demonstrations in eight STEM fields) and Lab Manual (videos for introductory biology lab courses). Available through June 15, 2020 for free from JoVE to support online learning during the COVID-19 pandemic.
  • Find Scholarly Articles
  • Full Text
  • Resource available for a limited time
  • Free resource available during COVID-19 pandemic
New
JSTOR and participating publishers are making an expanded set of content freely available to participating institutions where students have been displaced due to COVID-19. Expanded content includes 26 journal archives in Public Health, all Archive and Primary Source collections, and over 20,000 books. This content is accessible to BGSU users alongside our normal JSTOR journal and ebook content. Further details can be found at https://about.jstor.org/covid19/ Available through June 30 for free from JSTOR to support online learning during the COVID-19 pandemic.
  • Images
  • Full Text
  • News and Newspapers
  • Resource available for a limited time
  • Free resource available during COVID-19 pandemic
New Trial
MasterFILE Complete offers the largest collection of popular full-text magazines, reference books and other sources from the world's leading publishers. Covering virtually every general interest subject area, it also includes an extensive collection of photos, maps and flags. Available through June 30th for free from EBSCO to support online learning during the COVID-19 pandemic.
  • Find Scholarly Articles
  • Full Text
  • Resource available for a limited time
  • Free resource available during COVID-19 pandemic
New
The complete collection of MIT Press ebooks, with over 2,500 titles. Key subject areas covered include art and architecture, biomedical sciences, business and finance, computer science, design, neuroscience, new media, philosophy, and more. Available through May 31, 2020 for free from MIT Press to support online learning during the COVID-19 pandemic.
  • Full Text
  • Resource available for a limited time
  • Free resource available during COVID-19 pandemic
New Trial
Numerique Premium offers a range of French-language ebooks in the humanities, social studies, legal studies, and political sciences. Available through April 23,2020 for free from Numerique to support online learning during the COVID-19 pandemic.
  • Find Scholarly Articles
  • Full Text
  • Resource available for a limited time
  • Free resource available during COVID-19 pandemic
New
Over a thousand ebooks offering up to date, high-level research on hundreds of topics. Essays in each handbook review the key issues and cutting-edge debates, as well as providing arguments for how those debates might evolve. Available through May 17, 2020 as a free trial from Oxford to support online learning during the COVID-19 pandemic.
  • Find Scholarly Articles
  • Full Text
  • Resource available for a limited time
  • Free resource available during COVID-19 pandemic
New Trial
Peer-reviewed titles in theoretical and applied mathematics and statistics hosted by Project Euclid (a division of Duke University Press). Includes 371 full-text ebooks. Available through Jun 23rd for free from Project Euclid (Duke) to support online learning during the COVID-19 pandemic.
  • Find Scholarly Articles
  • Full Text
  • Resource available for a limited time
  • Free resource available during COVID-19 pandemic
New
An interdisciplinary collection of high quality, scholarly (peer reviewed) journals in the humanities, arts, and social sciences and scholarly books from university press publishers. Updates to the list of publishers offering free access to content can be found at https://about.muse.jhu.edu/resources/freeresourcescovid19/. Content that is freely available on the Project MUSE platform during the COVID-19 crisis will be accessible alongside BGSU's normally subscribed content and display a distinctive “Free” icon. Available up through June 30 for free from Project MUSE to support online learning during the COVID-19 pandemic.
  • Full Text
  • Resource available for a limited time
  • Free resource available during COVID-19 pandemic
New Trial
The R2 Digital Library offers access to over 5,000 fully integrated and searchable medical, nursing and allied health source books from key health science publishers. Available through May 20, 2020 for free from Rittenhouse to support online learning during the COVID-19 pandemic.
  • Videos
  • Resource available for a limited time
  • Free resource available during COVID-19 pandemic
New Trial
SAGE Research Methods Video includes hours of tutorials, interviews, video case studies, and mini-documentaries covering the entire research process. Find videos made with expert researchers from leading research institutions, along with a suite of tools to find and collect information. Available through Jun 23rd for free from SAGE to support online learning during the COVID-19 pandemic.
  • Videos
  • Resource available for a limited time
  • Free resource available during COVID-19 pandemic
New Trial
SAGE Video showcases educational video across key social science disciplines. Each collection includes a breadth of video types to support diverse research and learning needs. All videos are fully citable with searchable transcripts, custom clip creation and embedding. Available through Jun 23rd for free from SAGE to support online learning during the COVID-19 pandemic.
  • Full Text
  • Resource available for a limited time
  • Free resource available during COVID-19 pandemic
New Trial
Includes screenplays and critical, contextual and practical books on films and filmmaking from the late nineteenth century to the present, as well as overview articles on key themes and an interactive timeline of cinema history. Available through May 31, 2020 for free from Bloomsbury to support online learning during the COVID-19 pandemic.
  • Find Scholarly Articles
  • Full Text
  • Resource available for a limited time
  • Free resource available during COVID-19 pandemic
New
All scholarly monographs and the Language Files linguistics textbook will be open and free to use through the OSU Libraries Knowledge Bank. Available through the end of summer for free from The Ohio State University Press to support online learning during the COVID-19 pandemic.
  • Find Scholarly Articles
  • Images
  • Streaming Audio
  • Resource available for a limited time
  • Free resource available during COVID-19 pandemic
New Trial
Theology & Religion Online is the digital home to a growing range of resources designed for students and scholars of Theology, Biblical Studies, Religious Studies and related fields, ranging from exclusive digital reference products to layered thematic collections comprising audio-visual content, monographs and scholarly reference..
  • Full Text
  • Resource available for a limited time
  • Free resource available during COVID-19 pandemic
New Trial
U.S. Documents Masterfile includes 15 million citations with 10 million links to foundational full text U.S. government publications. Many files are updated daily or weekly, alongside hard-to-find historical materials. Available through June 30, 2020 for free from Paratext to support online learning during the COVID-19 pandemic.
  • Find Scholarly Articles
  • Resource available for a limited time
  • Free resource available during COVID-19 pandemic
New Trial
Full access to all of the University of California Press journals, covering a wide range of subjects. Available through June 2020 for free from University of California Press to support online learning during the COVID-19 pandemic.
  • Full Text
  • Resource available for a limited time
  • Free resource available during COVID-19 pandemic
New
The University of Michigan Press Ebook Collection (UMP EBC) contains the Press's scholarly output published since 2012 as well as new books and older titles as they are digitized. Included in the Collection are over 200 titles used in student courses and almost 300 award-winners. Strengths include political science and public (including health) policy, performing arts, classical and medieval studies, American studies, and Area studies (especially East Asian, African, and German studies).​ Available through April 30 for free from the University of Michigan Press to support online learning during the COVID-19 pandemic.
  • Full Text
  • News and Newspapers
New
This platform covers Bowling Green area newspapers from 1867 to 1958 with complete coverage of the Bradner Advocate and the Risingsun Unique Weekly. To view the complete newspaper collection on microfilm, visit the Local History Collection at the Wood County District Public Library in person.
  • Find Scholarly Articles
  • Full Text
  • Resource available for a limited time
  • Free resource available during COVID-19 pandemic
New Trial
World Scientific publishes scientific, technical, and medical books and journals. This collection offers access to all of their content; over 140 titles covering a wide range of topics. Available through May 31st for free from World Scientific to support online learning during the COVID-19 pandemic.
Loading...
Loading...
title
Loading...