Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Jerome Spooktacular: Home

Take a self-guided stroll through Jerome Library

Take the #BGSUSpookyChallenge #JeromeSpooktacular

Welcome BGSU 1910 Students!

Your challenge, should you choose to accept it, is to take this self-guided, spooky stroll through Jerome Library. Complete the tasks and post your photos on Instagram for a chance to win the grand prize ($50 Amazon Gift Card) or a prize pack. Instructions are available below. You also have the option to download a PDF with the instructions below.

  • Complete these tasks on Monday, October 24 or Tuesday, October 25 from 9 a.m. to 8 p.m.

  • You may complete these activities on your own or in groups of 4 people, maximum.

  • Take creative photos as you go.

  • When you've completed all the activities, post some of your favorite photos on Instagram by 11:59 p.m. on Tuesday, October 25. To be eligible for the grand prize ($50 Amazon gift card) or prize packs featuring swag from BGSU.

    1. tag @bgsulibraries and

    2. use the hashtags: #JeromeSpooktacular #BGSUSpookyChallenge

  • Winners will be notified via Instagram on Wednesday, October 26.

  • Check out these special events taking place during the Spooktacular

    1. Vote for your favorite decorated pumpkin(s) found near the grand staircase on the 1st floor! 

    2. On Monday, October 24 (4-8 p.m.) and Tuesday, October 25 (5:30-8 p.m.), join the Design Your BGSU student organization in the Market area on the 1st floor for snacks and Halloween-themed games and activities! All are welcome. 

    3. Visit the Browne Popular Culture Library on the 4th floor for some bonus activities including: 

      • Monday, October 24 (5-8 p.m.): Game night  

      • Pick up a Dungeons & Dragons themed coloring sheet to color or take home 

Task 1. Take a #shelfie

[If you need help with this task, you can ask the staff at the Research and Information Desk just inside the library entrance. It’s the desk labeled “Questions? Ask Us!”]

  1. Use your laptop or one of the computers in the library lobby.

  2. Using the internet browser of your choice, go to our library home page: bgsu.edu/library
  3. Select the “catalog” tab.
  4. Search for the phrase: haunted Ohio
  5. On the results screen, use the dropdown menu labeled “View entire collection” to select “1st and 8th floor main collection”.
  6. Click on one of the titles located in “Main Lib First Floor” that sounds interesting to you.
  7. Write down the call number for the book.
  8. Click on “map it” to view a map of where the book is located in the library and write down the range number assigned to the shelf.
  9. Find the book on the shelf and take a “shelfie” with it.
  10. Post your photo to Instagram using the tags and hashtags from the instructions above.

Task 2. Visit the first floor Circulation or "Check out" Desk

  • Ask the staff to tell you about course reserves.
  • What other unique materials can you check out from the desk [Hint: aside from books]?

Task 3. Visit the 2nd floor Curriculum Resource Center

  • Ask the staff to tell you more about the collection.
  • Take a photo of the seasonal “spooky” display with or without members of your group.

Task 4. Visit the 3rd floor Music Library and Bill Schurk Sound Archives

  • Ask the staff to tell you more about the collection.
  • Take a photo of something you think is cool or unusual.
  • Play a spooky piece of music at the vinyl record listening station.

Task 5. Visit the 4th floor Browne Popular Culture Library

  • Ask the staff to tell you more about the collection.

  • Take a photo of the seasonal “spooky” display with or without members of your group

Task 6. Visit the 5th Floor Center for Archival Collections

The CAC closes at 5 p.m. Skip this activity if it closed.

  • Ask the staff to tell you more about the collection. Be sure to ask about the “secret” 6th floor!

  • Take a photo of the seasonal “spooky” display with or without members of your group.

Task 7. Visit the 7th floor Group Study area

  • Can you find the bookable study rooms? How do you reserve one? How long can your reservation last?

  • Take a picture of your favorite study spot on the 7th floor with or without your group members.

Additional Pro Tips about Jerome Library

  • The Collab Lab on the 1st floor (across from the elevators) is the ideal space for ideating in groups.
  • The 8th floor is silent study space.
  • The 8th floor also contains the remainder of the main stacks collection (continued from the 1st floor)
  • The library’s website provides access to millions of books, articles from journals, newspapers, and magazines, videos, and much more for BGSU students, faculty, and staff! www.bgsu.edu/library 
  • Jerome Library is home to two Fix-it bike repair stations.The stations are free and easy to use. There are several tools and air pumps to get you on your way.

Jerome Spooktacular

Special Thanks

Special thanks to Design Your BGSU, a student organization for those interested in design thinking and life design.

Librarian

Profile Photo
Maureen Barry
she/her/hers
Contact:
152 Jerome Library
419-372-3847